First Choice Financial Credit Union holds 47th annual dinner meeting

The board of directors of First Choice Financial Federal Credit Union were honored for their combined individual years of service of over 135 years at the Credit Union’s recent annual dinner meeting. From left to right are Frank Carangelo, Marsha Smith and Vincent LaPorta. (Photo submitted)

GLOVERSVILLE – First Choice Financial Federal Credit Union recently hosted its 47th annual meeting at the Hales Mills Country Club with approximately 130 members in attendance, according to a news release.

Vince LaPorta, chairman of the board, conducted the business meeting, extending a warm welcome to the membership in attendance. He expounded that a credit union is made up of three parts. The first part is having great members; without members there would be no credit union. The second part is a great management team and devoted staff who work together getting the little things right for members. And third is the volunteer board of directors who ardently volunteer their time to work on committees to ensure the financial success and well-being of the members. LaPorta reiterated that First Choice Financial Federal Credit Union has all three parts which is imperative and is why the Credit Union is so successful.

Brenda Coon, President/CEO stated that the Credit Union remains in good financial condition and upholds a solid reputation within the community it serves. Coon thanked the Credit Union management team, staff and board of directors for their hard work and support. Coon said that she would be remiss to overlook the vision 47 years ago and the financial dreams and commitment of the Credit Union’s patriarchs who cultivated quality financial services and a stable financial institution ensuing in the success and strength of the Credit Union today.

Marsha Smith, supervisory committee chairman, reported that a CPA audit and a federal examination by NCUA was conducted and found the Credit Union to be in balance and procedures and operations in compliance with Federal Credit Union regulations.

The Nomination Committee, chaired by Emily Brown, tendered and the membership voted into office the following people to serve a three-year term to the board of directors: Frank Carangelo, Marsha Smith, Melody Burton, Michael Rossi and David Karpinski.

LaPorta presented employee service awards to Deb DiVisconti, director of finance, 20 years; Kayla Leitch, director of collections, 15 years; Ereka Ricciardi, head teller, 10 years; and Mandy Taggart, senior teller, 5 years.

Coon extended a sincere thank you to Vince LaPorta, Frank Carangelo and Marsha Smith for their continued service on the Board for their combined individual years of service of over 135 years. Coon recognized and thanked Rob Javarone, Amy Pedrick, Frank DeRosa and Eileen Wrightsman on their retirement from the Board and years of service.