Time to register snowmobiles
ALBANY — As the weather becomes colder, state agencies are reminding New Yorkers to register their snowmobiles, according to a news release.
Snowmobile registrations must be renewed annually. It can be done online on the Department of Motor Vehicles website, by mail or in person at a DMV office. Last year, 106,867 snowmobiles were registered in New York.
Members of a New York State Snowmobile Association Snowmobile Club can receive a voucher that includes an ID number which can be used to reduce the registration fee.
If a person is registering a snowmobile for the first time, here is what you need to bring to a DMV office:
∫ A completed snowmobile registration application (MV-82SN).
∫ Proof of identity and age. See DMV form ID-82 proofs of identification. A person must at least 16 years old to register a snowmobile in New York.
∫ Proof of ownership and bill of sale: non-residents can use photocopies of proof of ownership and aren’t required to pay the NYS sales tax if the snowmobile is registered in another state.
∫ Proof of identity and age.
∫ Cash, check or credit card for the $100 registration fee and sales tax, or proof of sales tax payment or exemption. If a registrant has a current, valid NYSSA voucher, and brings the voucher to the office, the fee for registration is $45.
Apart from the first $5 collected, the registration fees are used to support snowmobiling in the state. More than 10,400 miles of trails are in the Statewide Snowmobile Trail System traversing 45 counties, maintained by more than 200 clubs and funded through 51 municipal sponsors.
Snowmobilers must carry registration and proof of insurance documents on their person at all times while snowmobiling. Riders must produce the documents at the request of any law enforcement officer or magistrate. Additionally, riders must produce insurance documentation at the request of anyone who is injured or suffers property damage as a result of operation of a snowmobile. Holders of snowmobile safety certificates must carry the certificate when they are snowmobiling.
DMV also reminds snowmobilers that it is illegal to operate one while impaired by drugs or alcohol, and drivers and passengers must wear helmets on the state snowmobile trail system.
The state offers snowmobile education and offers operator training courses for snowmobilers of all ages beginning at age 10. For more information, visit parks.ny.gov/recreation/snowmobiles/education.aspx.