Canajoharie kindergarten classes celebrate

CANAJOHARIE – Ready to move on to the first grade next year, 64 Canajoharie kindergarten students celebrated a year of learning during a ceremony Monday at Canajoharie High School.

The students – members of the future Canajoharie High School Class of 2027 – sang songs and each received diplomas before a large crowd of family members and friends.

During the ceremony, the students also received a visit from Canajoharie High School senior Ian O’Neil, who was dressed in the cap and gown he’ll be wearing Friday during the high school’s 137th Commencement Ceremony.

Superintendent Deborah Grimshaw spoke to the kindergarteners about the pathway they are on to high school graduation with O’Neil serving as a real-life example.

O’Neil, who is the son of Canajoharie kindergarten teacher Kelly O’Neil, will be attending the state University of New York at Delhi in the fall to study mechatronics, a multidisciplinary engineering field including mechanical, electrical, telecommunications, control and computer engineering.

Students completing kindergarten this year were:

  • Patty Lorence’s class: Emily Battisti, Stephen Bennett, Evangeline Compton, Danyael Evans, Giavanna Fatta, Avery Fichthorn, Isibeal Fitzpatrick, Wyatt Fowler, Christopher Frederick, Sophie Kadle, Elijah Kretser, Brandon Memrick, Olivia Minch, Alexis Palmeri, Carter Ruszkowski, Clarissa Smith, Cayden Snyder, Eli Vasquez-Perez, Scott Warner, Case Yacobucci and Ivan Zhang; Kelly O’Neil’s class – Aaliyah Armstrong, Bryson Becker, Zellen Craver, Preston Dingman, Myah Enright, Elliot Erhardt, Nathan Folts, Jahzara Fowler, Riley Green, Ireland Hanchett, Devon Harrington, Emily Kwiatkowski, Mary Kwiatkowski, Landon Lamphere, SeanRyan McCarthy, Triston Mickel, Kailee Mount, Michael Smith, Katy Snyder, Angelinarose Weiss and Cody Wilkinson.
  • Margaret Shannon’s class: Bryce Andrews, Carter Barry, Meadow Burke, Teegan Compton, Eliza Compton-Butler, Maya Evans, Johnathan Ferguson, Jr., Landen Fernandez, Kaiden Gifford, Teresa Harrison, Ayden Hickling, Haleigh Kirby, Dylan Mead, Jackson Moisio, Steven Mykel, Madalyn Onorato, Christian Priddle, Morgan Prime, Mario Scalia, Riley Spraker, John Swank and Trinity Williams.