Area students receive traffic board awards

JOHNSTOWN – The Fulton County Traffic Safety Board and STOP DWI on Monday handed out awards at their annual awards dinner at the Holiday Inn.

Approximately 35 people attended the event, a news release said.

The Antone “Tony” Ralbovsky Scholarship Award, given annually to a student graduating from one of the Fulton County high schools, was awarded to Johnstown High School senior Megan Anagnostopulos.

Anagnostopulos will attend the State University of New York at Brockport, where she will major in sports management.

The Ron Hill Scholarship Award, sponsored by Elaine and Jim Hill, was given to two high school students: Gloversville High School senior Megan Hayner and Johnstown High School senior Jeanne Winton.

Hayner and Winton will go to Fulton-Montgomery Community College, where they are accepted to the criminal justice program.

The Wallace Davis Award, given annually to a person or agency that has supported traffic safety, was awarded to the Broadalbin-Kennyetto Fire Company for its dedication in responding to emergency traffic situations in Fulton County. The news release pointed out the fire company secured and manned a fatal motor vehicle accident scene for approximately 15 hours.

The Fulton County District Attorney’s Office Certificates of Merit, presented by District Attorney Louise K. Sira, were awarded to the fire agencies in Fulton County for their assistance in emergency traffic situations in the county. The agencies are Berkshire Volunteer Fire Department, Caroga Lake Volunteer Fire Company, Ephratah Volunteer Fire Department, Gloversville Fire Department, Hilltop Volunteer Fire Company, Johnstown Fire Department, Mayfield Volunteer Fire Department, Meco Volunteer Fire Company, Northville Volunteer Fire Department, Oppenheim Volunteer Fire Department, Perth Volunteer Fire Company, Pleasant Square Fire Department, Rockwood-Garoga-Lassellsville Volunteer Fire Company, Sammonsville Volunteer Fire Department, Sir William Johnson Volunteer Fire Company and Stratford Volunteer Fire Company.