AAUW awards announced

AMSTERDAM – The Amsterdam-Gloversville-Johnstown branch of the American Association of University Women announces the winners of the 2015 AAUW Dorothy Wemple Literary Award.

The first place award of $500 went to Kelsey Thompson, and the second place award of $300 was received by Audrey Flint. Both are recent graduates of Amsterdam High School. Kelsey will be going to Syracuse University, and Audrey will be studying at Hofstra University.

The contest is open to students in Fulton, Montgomery and Hamilton counties. Applicants were asked to write a 300- to 500-word research or autobiographical essay on the topic “Elizabeth Cady Stanton: Why do you feel the work she did to expand women’s legal, political and educational opportunities is important for women today, and how might it work for you?”

The topic was chosen to commemorate the 200th anniversary of suffragist Elizabeth Cady Stanton’s birth in Johnstown.

The AAUW Literary Award is given annually in memory of Dorothy Anderson Wemple, who was a member of AAUW for more than 50 years and a member of the local AAUW branch since its inception in 1967. Wemple, who died in 2007, was an English teacher at Knox Junior High School in Johnstown and was a past judge for the essay contest which began in 1991.

Jahnn Gibson and Linda Hammond served as chairs of the AAUW High School Literary Award. Readers included Paula Lerner, Laurie Kozakiewicz and Nancy Reynolds. Gibson presented the awards at Amsterdam High School’s Awards Night.

For more information about the local AAUW branch, log on to agj-ny.aauw.net.