Zawisa, Myers share WAC MVP honors

Mayfield's Mikayla Myers, right, hits the ball as Galway's Samantha Grant and Lindsay Zawisa (6) look for the block during Saturday's Section II Class D championship match at Saratoga Springs High School. Myers and Zawisa shared Most Valuable Player honors in the Western Athletic Conference Hudson Division. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

Several local players were among those named to the 2018 Western Athletic Conference volleyball all-star team.

Galway’ senior Lindsey Zawisa was named the WAC Section II all-star.

Mayfield senior Mikayla Myers and Zawisa shared the Hudson Division Most Valuable Player honors.

Zawisa was named the Hudson Division MVP Hitter, Mayfield senior Emily Mormando was named Hudson Division MVP Setter and Galway sophomore Katy Kurtzner was named Defensive MVP.

Myers and Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Christina Brown were named honorable-mention hitters, while Galway’s Hannah Hoffman, Bishop Gibbons’ Anna Dobkowski, Galway’s Emma Smith and Mekeel Christian Academy’s Sophia Armao were named honorable-mention setters.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Lauren Weinberger was named defensive honorable mention.

Zawisa, Myers, Mormando, Kurtzner, Smith and Dobkowski were named first-team Hudson Division all-stars.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Sydney Shepard, Mayfield’s Samantha Kent, Fonda-Fultonville’s Marilyn Whitcavitch, Armao and Hoffman were named second-team Hudson Division all-stars.

In the Mohawk Division, Middleburgh’s Saige Burton was named MVP and MVP Hitter.

Duanesburg’s Annabelle Rieseler was named MVP Setter, while Schoharie’s Raquel Gerstenberger was named Defensive MVP. Middleburgh’s Megan Brown and Schoharie’s Bridget Cipperly were named honorable-mention hitters, while Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Shaina Golladay and Schoharie’s Jacqui Gerstenberger were named honorable-mention setters.

Duanesburg’s Victoria Passonno and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Silvia Johansen were named defensive honorable mention.

Burton, Rieseler, Passonno, Brown, Jacqui Gerstenberger and Raquel Gerstenberger were named first-team Mohawk Division all-stars.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Kenidee Oare, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Adrianna Fahd, Middleburg’s Anna Hooper, Duanesburg’s Sophia Loukides, Middleburgh’s Hallie Gasner and Johansen were named to the second team.

2018 Western Athletic Conference

Volleyball All-Stars

Section II All-Star: Lindsey Zawisa (Galway)

Hudson Division

Co-MVP: Lindsey Zawisa (Galway), Mikayla Myers (Mayfield)

MVP Hitter: Lindsey Zawisa (Galway). Honorable Mention: Mikayla Myers (Mayfield), Christina Brown (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons)

MVP Setter: Emily Mormando (Mayfield). Honorable Mention: Hannah Hoffman (Galway), Anna Dobkowski (Notre Dame Bishop Gibbons), Emma Smith (Galway), Sophia Armao (Mekeel Christian)

MVP Defense (Katy Kurtzner (Galway). Honorable Mention: Lauren Weinberger (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

First Team

Lindsay Zawisa (Galway), Mikayla Myers (Mayfield), Katy Kurtzner (Galway), Emily Mormando (Mayfield), Emma Smith (Galway), Anna Dobkowski (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons)

Second Team

Sydney Shepard (Canajoharie-Fort Plain), Samantha Kent (Mayfield), Hannah Hoffman (Galway), Marilyn Whitcavitch (Fonda-Fultonville), Sophia Armao (Mekeel Christian), Kayla Mastin (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

Mohawk Division

MVP: Saige Burton (Middleburgh)

MVP Hitter: Saige Burton (Middleburgh). Honorable Mention: Megan Brown (Middleburgh), Bridget Cipperly (Schoharie)

MVP Setter: Annabelle Rieseler (Duanesburg). Honorable Mention: Jacqui Gerstenberger (Schoharie), Shaina Golladay (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville)

MVP Defense: Raquel Gerstenberger (Schoharie). Honorable Mention: Victoria Passonno (Duanesburg), Silvia Johansen (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

First Team

Saige Burton (Middleburgh), Annabelle Rieseler (Duanesburg), Jacqui Gerstenberger (Schoharie), Victoria Passonno (Duanesburg), Megan Brown (Middleburgh), Racquel Gerstenberger (Schoharie)

Second Team

Kenidee Oare (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Adrianna Fahd (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Anna Hooper (Middleburgh), Sophia Loukides (Duanesburg), Hallie Gasner (Middleburgh), Silvia Johansen (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)