Mayfield hosts WAC Exceptional Senior Match

Middleburgh’s Saige Burton (Mohawk Division), left, Galway’s Lindsey Zawisa (Hudson Division co-MVP), center, and Mayfield’s Mikayla Myers (Hudson Division co-MVP) were honored at the Western Athletic Conference Exceptional Senior Match at Mayfield High School on Wednesday. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

MAYFIELD — The Western Athletic Conference Exceptional Senior Match took place Wednesday at Mayfield High School.

The Hudson Division defeated the Mohawk Division by scores of 22-25, 25-15, 25-18, 17-25 and 15-11.

The Hudson Division roster included Mayfield’s Mikayla Myers, Emily Mormando and Samantha Kent, as well as Galway’s Lindsey Zawisa, Emma Smith and Samantha Grant.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Kayla Mastin, Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons Anna Dobkowski, Mekeel Christian Academy’s Sophia Armao, Bishop Gibbons’ Sarah Malinowski, Fonda-Fultonville’s Cassey Knowlton and Emilia Vardai-Davidson.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Cara Porter, Mayfield’s Katie LaGrange and Bishop Gibbons’ Virginia Riva were alternates for the Hudson Division squad, which was coached by Galway’s Mike Glenn.

The Mohawk Division roster included Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Meadow Arduini and Meadow Arduini.

Duanesburg’s Sophia Loukides, Victoria Passonno, Annabelle Rieseler and Erica Schettine also were part of the Mohawk Division team, along with Middleburgh’s Megan Brown, Saige Burton and Brooke Marsh.

Rounding out the Mohawk Division squad were Schoharie’s Lexi Myers, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Adrianna Fahd and Schoharie’s Jacqui Gerstenberger.

Middleburgh’s Nadine Standhart and OESJ’s Fontana LaCoppola were alternates for the Mohawk Division team, which was coached by Middleburgh’s Josh Bornt.