Four Mohawks selected for PGCBL All-Star Game

UTICA — The Perfect Game Collegiate Baseball League announced the rosters for the 2018 PGCBL All-Star Game on Wednesday.

The eighth PGCBL All-Star Game is scheduled for July 18 at Dunn Field, home of the Elmira Pioneers, and is presented by the Hilliard Corporation and Southern Tier Custom Fabricators.

The All-Star Game is returning to Elmira for the first time in four seasons. Much like the crowd from the game in 2014, a sellout crowd is expected at Dunn Field.

The 2014 All-Star Game, which saw the East All-Stars take a no-hitter into the eighth in a 3-1 victory, featured more than 4,000 fans packing Dunn Field. The two previous All-Star Games played in Elmira have been the two most attended games in the seven-year history of the PGCBL’s Midsummer Classic, and the Pioneers are consistently among the top five teams in all of summer collegiate baseball in attendance.

All-Star festivities in Elmira will begin at 7 p.m. with the Home Run Derby, with the All-Star Game to follow. Earlier in the day, the assembled All-Stars will participate in a workout, as scouts from all 30 Major League Baseball franchises are scheduled to be in attendance.

The All-Stars are split into East and West, with the East All-Stars comprising players from the East Division (Albany, Amsterdam, Glens Falls, Oneonta, Saugerties), Mohawk Valley, and Utica. The West All-Stars will be represented by players from the West Division (Elmira, Geneva, Jamestown, Newark), as well as players from Watertown and Adirondack.

PGCBL All-Stars are nominated and selected by coaches of the teams in the East and West, respectively. Coaches selected two players at each position, three catchers, one utility player, and 12 pitchers.

The first-year Watertown Rapids lead all PGCBL teams with eight All-Stars. Watertown’s delegation includes league home run leader Alex Mumme (Ursinus) and PGCBL stolen base leader Daniel Little (Richmond).

Following the Rapids on the West side are the Jamestown Jammers, who will send five players to the All-Star Game, including three players — Alex O’Donnell (Mercyhurst), Ben Livorsi (St. Louis), and Chase Keng (UTSA) – who are scheduled to start in the game. Adirondack, the host Elmira Pioneers, Geneva, and Newark will all send four players to the PGCBL’s Midsummer Classic.

On the East side, the Albany Dutchmen lead the way with six selections. Lucas Dunn (Louisville), the East’s scheduled starter at second base, and former league Pitcher of the Week Deaven Phillips (Tampa) lead the way for Nick Davey’s club.

The Mohawk Valley DiamondDawgs, who are led by league batting average leader Ryan Hernandez (San Jacinto CC) and RBI leader Ryan Toohers (Villanova), and the Utica Blue Sox will each send five players to Dunn Field. Utica’s delegation includes PGCBL ERA leader Blaise Lomon (Carl Albert State).

The Amsterdam Mohawks, Oneonta Outlaws, and Saugerties Stallions each have four representatives on the roster, while the Glens Falls Dragons round out the roster with two picks.

Amsterdam will send shortstop Elvis Peralta Jr., pitcher Zach Durant, outfielder Richie Barrella and pitcher Ryan McLinskey to the all-star game.

2018 PGCBL All-Star Game Rosters

East Division

Catcher: Cameron Comer (Saugerties/Virginia), Colton Bender (Utica/Quinnipiac), Jerry Huntzinger (Albany/Seton Hall)

First Base: Ryan Hernandez (Mohawk Valley/San Jacinto CC),

Second Base: Lucas Dunn (Albany/Louisville), Tyler Kelder (Saugerties/St. Bonaventure)

Third Base: Cassius Young (Oneonta/Georgia College), Cameron Masterman (Albany/Louisville)

Shortstop: Elvis Peralta (Amsterdam/Marshall), Nick Kondo (Glens Falls/UAlbany)

Outfield: Khalyd Cox (Utica/Savannah State), Austin Pollack (Mohawk Valley/Manhattanville), Richie Barrella (Amsterdam/Manhattan), Kyle Ruedisili (Oneonta/Washington & Lee), Isaiah Torres (Utica/Grambling State), Ubaldo Lopez (Albany/Dartmouth)

Utility: Steve Minter (Oneonta/Georgia)

Pitcher: Deaven Phillips (Albany/Tampa), Ryan Greco (Albany/Brockport), Ryan McLinskey (Amsterdam/Seton Hall), Zach Durant (Amsterdam/Herkimer), Christian Allegretti (Glens Falls/St. Thomas Aquinas), Zach Taglieri (Mohawk Valley/The Citadel), Ryan Rodriguez (Mohawk Valley/UC Davis), Logan Moody (Oneonta/Georgia), Logan Teske (Saugerties/Angelo State), Nick Zwack (Saugerties/Xavier), Blaise Lomon (Utica/Carl Albert State), Josh Gosweiler (Utica/Iona)

West Division

Catcher: Ben Livorsi (Jamestown/St. Louis), Kenny Bergmann (Watertown/UConn), Zac Miller (Geneva/Delaware)

First Base: Nick LaBrasca (Geneva/Youngstown State), Julio Marcano (Adirondack/NJIT)

Second Base: Jared DeSantolo (Newark/FAU), William Heurtin (Watertown/Rhodes)

Third Base: Joey Myers (Elmira/UC Davis), Michael Russell (Watertown/Stony Brook)

Shortstop: Alex O’Donnell (Jamestown/Mercyhurst), Dan Little (Watertown/Richmond)

Outfield: Alex Mumme (Watertown/Ursinus), Outfield- Chase Keng (Jamestown/UTSA), Parker Tadlock (Newark/Angelo State), Bradley Roberto (Adirondack/Franklin Pierce), Julian Kurych (Watertown/Wilmington)

Outfield/Pitcher: Allen Murphy (Newark/St. John Fisher)

Utility: Tanner Johnson (Elmira/Kentucky)

Pitcher: Mike Sansone (Adirondack/Fairfield), John Polichetti (Adirondack/UMass Lowell), Mason Hazelwood (Elmira/Kentucky), Rhyse Dee (Elmira/Wake Forest), Jack Collins (Geneva/College of Charleston), Sean Lubreski (Geneva/NJIT), Ryan Boyer (Jamestown/Pitt Bradford), Pitcher- Isaiah Moten (Jamestown/Cal State Bakersfield), Trent Baker (Newark/Angelo State), Jack Buckley (Watertown/Franklin and Marshall), Robbie Frongello (Watertown/Richmond)