Yacobucci, Lazarou win 2017 high school cross-country awards

Leader-Herald File Photo Andrew Yacobucci

HAGAMAN — Andrew Yacobucci of Canajoharie-Fort Plain High School and Olivia Lazarou of Amsterdam High School have been named winners of the Fulmont Roadrunners Club’s annual Cross-Country Runner of the Year Awards honoring the year’s top male and female cross-country runners in Fulton and Montgomery County high schools. 

For their achievements, the two high-school seniors received special recognition at the Fulmont Roadrunners’ annual Winter Wimp foot race held on Jan. 13 in Hagaman. 

Yacobucci led his Canajoharie-Fort Plain High team, going undefeated in Western Athletic

Conference meets this year and winning the league championship by 18 seconds. He also had second place finishes in the Class C Race at the Grout and at the Fort Plain Invitationals and was ninth in the Class D Sectionals at Saratoga Springs.

A four-time participant in the New York State Cross-Country championships, Lazarou placed 10th this year as a senior, capping off her outstanding running career at Amsterdam High.  She holds and shares more that a dozen school records between cross country and track and was honored this year with the Section 2 and New York State sportsmanship awards for cross country.

Leader-Herald File Photo Olivia Lazarou

Yacobucci and Lazarou, both honor students, plan to continue their competitive running at the college level.


Outstanding XC Runner Awards

In addition to the overall winners, the Fulmont Roadrunners select the top male and female cross-country runners in each of the Fulton and Montgomery County high schools that field cross-country teams. They too were honored at the Winter Wimp.

Winners of these Outstanding Cross-Country Runner Awards for 2017 were Amsterdam High’s Lauren Santiago, a junior, and Trevor Dzikowicz, a ninth grader; Gabby Larson, grade 11, and Micah Smith, grade 10, from Broadalbin-Perth High; Canajoharie-Fort Plain High seniors Erica Cechnicki and Mike Hoffman; Mariah Van Avery and Aiden Zenzen, seniors at Fonda-Fultonville High; Gloversville High juniors Daley Jo Christman and Skylar Reed; seniors Julia Sarullo and Gabe Cole, Johnstown High; ninth grader Madison Relyea and senior Tyler Newkirk from Mayfield High; and Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville High’s Madison Richardson, a senior, and Manny Root, a ninth grader. 

The Fulmont Roadrunners initiated the high school cross-country awards program more than 20 years ago as part of its efforts to encourage and reward young runners in Fulton and Montgomery Counties. It also awards scholarships annually to outstanding high school seniors in the area who compete in varsity running programs and are going on to college.  Amsterdam High School track and cross country coach Stu Palczak heads up both programs for the club.