Area players named Section II all-stars

Captain Hannah Coupas accepts the Section II Class D championship plaque from Northville coach Doug Hammons after the postgame ceremonies Nov. 1 at Lansingburgh High School. The Lady Falcons defeated Fort Ann, 3-1, to win their first sectional championship since 2011. Coupas was named the Section II Class D Player of the Year, while Hammons was named Section II Class D Coach of the Year. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area girls soccer players were named to the Section II all-star team.

Northville swept the top honors in Class D with Hannah Coupas named Player of the Year, Emily Shepard named Goalie of the Year and Doug Hammons named Coach of the Year.

The Lady Falcons, who won the Section II Class D title, also had Brytney Moore and Brianna Bace named Class D all-stars.

Fonda-Fultonville’s Alyssa Duval, Mayfield’s Taryn LaFontaine, Canajoharie’s Abby Smith and Galway’s Grace Montague, Fort Plain’s Emily Abrams and Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Bella Masi also were named Section II all-stars.

Duval was named an all-star in Class B, while LaFontaine, Smith and Montague were named all-stars in Class C. Masi and Abrams were named all-stars in Class D.

Fort Ann had Amanda Godfrey and Sarah Paige named Class D all-stars.

Rounding out the Class D all-star selections were Salem’s Neva DiBlasi, Doane Stuart’s Antonia DiPreta, Heatly’s Morgan Razzano and New Lebanon’s Sydney Smith.

Stillwater’s Brooke Pickett was named Class C Player of the Year, Cairo-Durham’s Keegan Deyo was named Goalie of the Year and Stillwater’s Christine Ihnatolya was named Coach of the Year.

Schoharie had Adrianna Cornell, Carrie Krohn and Meghan Krohn named Class C all-stars, while Hoosick Falls had Angela Gonzalez, Taylor Mann and Darian Morgan honored.

Bolton-Warrensburg’s Madelyn Pratt and Caitlyn Speranza; Lake George’s Gabby Marchello, Kylie Mann and Sarah Kohls; and Stillwater’s Keelyn Peacock and Faith Sheehan also were named Class C all-stars.

Rounding out the Class C all-stars were Greenville’s Danielle Misuraca, Maple Hill’s Arianna Papas, Waterford-Halfmoon’s Annelise Rebel, Cambridge’s Miranda Seacord, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Courtney Sherwin and Cambridge’s Grace Snyder.

Cohoes’ Natalie Ricci was named Class B Player of the Year, Cohoes’ Samantha Dayter was named Class B Goalie of the Year and Mechanicville’s Karl Gerstenberger was named Coach of the Year.

Mechanicville’s Mackenzie Bowie, Quinn Gowett and Lea Hickey were named Class B all-stars, while Schalmont’s Sofia Cassano, Caroline Gilooley, Molly Older, Vanessa Wainwright

Also named Class B all-stars were Catholic Central’s Hannah Field; Schuylerville’s Amy Moreau and Sidney Gregorek; Coxsackie-Athens’ Kelley Hair; Voorheesville’s Jayden Kelley and Kaelyn Lawson; Albany Academy’s Nivya Menkura; Catskill’s Maci Mosher; Cobleskill-Richmondville’s Emma Osterhaudt; and Holy Names’ Ava Panto and Bella Tronco.

In Class AA, Niskayuna’s Izzy Lynch was named Player of the Year, Shenendehowa’s Kelsey Kohler was named Goalie of the Year and Shenendehowa’s Holly Moore was named Coach of the Year.

Saratoga Springs’ Julia DiMenna and Brie Dungate were named Class AA all-stars, while Bethlehem had Grace Hotaling and Holly Moore honored. Rounding out the Class AA all-stars were Niskayuna’s Ali Greco, Columbia’s Amanda Lobban, Guilderland’s Margot Nezaj, Shenendehowa’s Amanda O’Brien, Shaker’s Cait Wood and Shenendehowa’s Ava Sullivan.

Scotia-Glenville swept the awards in Class A with Tanya Leggiero (Player of the Year), Lauren Hosner (Goalie of the Year) and Lise Williams (Coach of the Year) earning honors. The Tartans also had Sydnee Smith and Lauren Zeglen named Section II Class A all-stars.

South Glens Falls had Amya Naja and Aly Fish named Class A all-stars, while Mohonasen’s Lexi Canavally and Alexandra Skoda also were honored.

Rounding out the Section II Class A all-star selections were Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake’s Mollie Boone, Averill Park’s Jessica Haskins and Queensbury’s Emma Nelson.

2017 Section II Girls Soccer All-Stars

Class AA

Player of the Year: Izzy Lynch (Niskayuna)

Goalie of the Year: Kelsey Kohler (Shenendehowa)

Coach of the Year: Holly Moore (Shenendehowa)


Julia DiMenna (Saratoga Springs), Brie Dungate (Saratoga Springs), Ali Greco (Niskayuna, Grace Hotaling (Bethlehem), Amanda Lobban (Columbia), Holly Moore (Bethlehem), Margot Nezaj (Guilderland), Amanda O’Brien (Shenendehowa), Ava Sullivan (Shenendehowa), Cait Wood (Shaker).

Class A

Player of the Year: Tanya Leggiero (Scotia-Glenville)

Goalie of the Year: Lauren Hosner (Scotia-Glenville)

Coach of the Year: Lise Williams (Scotia-Glenville)


Mollie Boone (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Lexi Canavally (Mohonasen), Aly Fish (South Glens Falls), Jessica Haskins (Averill Park), Amya Naja (South Glens Falls), Emma Nelson (Queensbury), Alexandra Skoda (Mohonasen), Sydnee Smith (Scotia-Glenville), Lauren Zeglen (Scotia-Glenville).

Class B

Player of the Year: Natalie Ricci (Cohoes)

Goalie of the Year: Samantha Dayter (Cohoes)

Coach of the Year: Karl Gerstenberger (Mechanicville)


Mackenzie Bowie (Mechanicville), Sofia Cassano (Schalmont), Alyssa Duval (Fonda-Fultonville), Hannah Field (Catholic Central), Caroline Gillooley (Schalmont), Quinn Gowett (Mechanicville), Sidney Gregorek (Schuylerville), Kelley Hair (Coxsackie-Athens), Lea Hickey (Mechanicville), Jayden Kelley (Voorheesville), Kaelyn Lawson (Voorheesville), Nivya Menkura (Albany Academy), Amy Moreau (Schuylerville), Maci Mosher (Catskill), Molly Older (Schalmont), Emma Osterhaudt (Cobleskill-Richmondville), Ava Panto (Holy Names), Bella Tronco (Holy Names), Vanessa Wainwright (Schalmont).

Class C

Player of the Year: Brooke Pickett (Stillwater)

Goalie of the Year: Keegan Deyo (Cairo-Durham)

Coach of the Year: Christine Ihnatolya (Stillwater)


Adrianna Cornell (Schoharie), Angela Gonzalez (Hoosick Falls), Sarah Kohls (Lake George), Carrie Krohn (Schoharie), Megan Krohn (Schoharie), Taryn LaFontaine (Mayfield), Kylie Mann (Lake George), Taylor Mann (Hoosick Falls), Gabby Marchello (Lake George), Danielle Misuraca (Greenville), Grace Montague (Galway), Darian Morgan (Hoosick Falls), Arianna Papas (Maple Hill), Keelyn Peacock (Stillwater), Madelyn Pratt (Bolton-Warrensburg), Annelise Rebel (Waterford-Halfmoon), Miranda Seacord (Cambridge), Faith Sheehan (Stillwater), Courtney Sherwin (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Abby Smith (Canajoharie), Caitlyn Speranza (Bolton-Warrensburg), Grace Snyder (Cambridge).

Class D

Player of the Year: Hannah Coupas (Northville)

Goalie of the Year: Emily Shepard (Northville)

Coach of the Year: Doug Hammons (Northville)


Emily Abrams (Fort Plain), Brianna Bace (Northville), Neva DiBlasi (Salem), Antonia DiPreta (Doane Stuart), Amanda Godfrey (Fort Ann), Bella Masi (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Brytney Moore (Northville), Sarah Paige (Fort Ann), Morgan Razzano (Heatly), Sydney Smith (New Lebanon).