Three Canajoharie-Fort Plain wrestlers win titles at Mohonasen Tournament

ROTTERDAM — Three Canajoharie-Fort Plain wrestlers brought home championships from the Mohonasen Invitational Saturday at Mohonasen High School.

Cody Haig pinned Antonio Encarnacion of Saratoga Springs in 2:24 in the championship match to claim the championship in the 99-pound weight class.

Jared Bentz picked up the 113-pound championship with a pin fall over Saratoga Springs’ Zeph Watkins at 2:38 of the championship match.

Hunter Congdon pinned Saratoga Springs’ Devin Crowe at the 1:21 mark of thetitle match to claim the 170-pound championship.

Chris Estep placed third at 132 with a pinfall over Mohonasen’s Colin Dineen in 3:23 in the consolation finals, while Adam Oertell placed fourth at 120 after dropping an 18-8 major decision to Lansingburgh’s Abbil Zahid in the 120 consolation final.

Mohonasen won the tournament team title with 158 points, followed by Saratoga Springs (132), Cobleskill-Richmondville (100.5), Canajoharie-Fort Plain (97) and Mechanicville-Stillwater (82).

Bill Andersen Memorial Tournament

Bulldog Invitational

CICERO — The Amsterdam Rams wrestling team split their squad with half of the team competing in the Bill Andersen Memorial Tournament at Cicero-North Syracuse High School and the other at the Bulldog Invitational at Berne-Knox-Westerlo High School.

The Rams placed 12th in the Andersen Tournament team scoring and eighth at the Bulldog Invitational.

Robert Boyer and Mike Rieken led the Rams at the Andersen Tournament with fourth place finishes at 182- and 220-pounds respectively.

Anthony Kelly placed fifth at 126, while Daniel Montalvo and Nick Rodecker finished seventh at 120 and 132 pounds respectively.

Brennen Rivas finished eighth at 120 and Kyle Taylor was eighth at 195.

At the Bulldog Invitational, Carlos Montalvo placed third at 99-pounds and Chris Lent placed third at 138.

Eladio Montalvo and Logan Marrone earned sixth-place finishes at 182 and 195 respectively.

Fulton won the Andersen Tournament team title, edging Spencerport 238.5-225.5.

Section IIs Hadley-Luzerne/Lake George placed fourth in the team standings, trailing third-place finisher Canastota 154-5-143. Amsterdam finished with 75.5 points.

Holland Patent won the Bulldog Inviational team title with 398 points, while Catskill was second with 266 points. The Rams placed eighth with 50 points.