Several area players named Foothills Council girls soccer all-stars

Gloversville goalie Alex Benfatti, left, and defender Libby Cook (13) were both named first-team Foothills Council girls soccer all-stars. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area players were among those named to the Foothills Council girls soccer all-star team.

Gloversville goalkeeper Alex Benfatti and defender Libby Cook were named to the first team.

The Lady Dragons also had Sydney Loux (midfield) and Harmony Philo named to the second team.

Johnstown’s Grace Fitzgerald (defense) and Abby Gottung (midfield) also earned second-team honors.

Amsterdam’s Lucia Liverio, Gabrielle Stanavich and Emma Patrei were named honorable mention, along with Johnstown’s Madison Delgado, Jenna Thompson and Carolyn Fitzpatrick.

Gloversville’s Kerri Hauser, Broadalbin-Perth’s Melissa O’Connor and Gloversville’s Taylor Mee also was named honorable mention.

Scotia-Glenville forward Sydnee Smith was named the Foothills Council Player of the Year.

The Lady Tartans also had Lauren Zeglen (midfield), Tanya Leggiero (forward), Haley Bonitatibus (defense) and Sydney Obman (defense) named to the first-team.

Schuylerville had Amy Moreau (midfield), Emily Vallee (forward), Sidney Gregorek (defense) and Kassandra Brennan (defense) earn first-team honors, while South Glens Falls had Aly Fish (midfield), Amya Naja (forward) and Morgan Smith (midfield) named to the first team.

Queensbury’s Izzy Denison (forward) and Emma Nelson (midfield) rounded out the first-team selections.

In addition to its four first-team honorees, Scotia-Glenville also had Lauren Hosner (goalkeeper, Lily Murphy (defense), Annika Nelson (midfield), Alexis Zatlokowicz (midfield) named to the second team.

South Glens Falls had Savannah Kreppein (midfield), Zoe Lanfear (defense) and Jamie DeSimone (defense) named to the second team, while Queensbury’s Katie Birkholz (midfield), Lauren Kline (defense) and Christina Cummings (forward) also earned second-team honors.

Schuylerville defender Katelyn Weed rounded out the second-team selections.

The Black Horses also had Cassie Patrick, Amanda Carlstrom and Caitlyn Kelleher named honorable mention.

Rounding out the honorable-mention selections were Queensbury’s Maddie Montgomery and Bridget Duffy; Scotia-Glenville’s Gwen Currie; and South Glens Falls’ Brooke DelSignore.

2017 Foothills Council Girls Soccer All-Stars

Player of the Year: Sydnee Smith (Scotia-Glenville)

First Team

Amy Moreau (Schuylerville), Tanya Leggiero (Scotia-Glenville), Aly Fish (South Glens Falls), Amya Naja (South Glens Falls), Izzy Dennison (Queensbury), Lauren Zeglen (Scotia-Glenville), Emily Vallee (Schuylerville), Emma Nelson (Queensbury), Alex Benfatti (Gloversville), Morgan Smith (South Glens Falls), Libby Cook (Gloversville), Haley Bonitatibus (Scotia-Glenville), Sidney Gregorek (Schuylerville), Kassandra Brennan (Schuylerville), Sydney Obman (Scotia-Glenville)

Second Team

Lauren Hosner (Scotia-Glenville), Katie Birkholz (Queensbury), Lily Murphy (Scotia-Glenville), Sydney Loux (Gloversville), Harmony Philo (Gloversville), Katelyn Weed (Schuylerville), Jaime DeSimone (South Glens Falls), Savannah Kreppein (South Glens Falls), Lauren Kline (Queensbury), Annika Nielson (Scotia-Glenville), Alexis Zatlokowicz (Scotia-Glenville), Grace Fitzgerald (Johnstown), Abby Gottung (Johnstown), Christina Cummings (Queensbury), Zoe Lanfear (South Glens Falls)

Honorable Mention

Schuylerville: Cassie Patrick, Amanda Carlstrom, Caitlyn Kelleher

Amsterdam: Lucia Liverio, Gabrielle Stanavich, Emma Patrei

Johnstown: Madison Delgado, Jenna Thompson, Carolyn Fitzpatrick

Queensbury: Maddie Montgomery, Bridget Duffy

Scotia-Glenville: Gwen Currie

Broadalbin-Perth: Melissa O’Connor

Gloversville: Kerri Hauser, Taylor Mee

South Glens Falls: Brooke DelSignore