Rams pin loss on Fo-Jo wrestlers

Fonda-Johnstown’s Kyle Gray, top, battles Amsterdam’s Randy Faria Jr. during their 170-pound bout Thursday at Fonda-Fultonville High School. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

FONDA — In its first home match as a combined squad, the Fonda-Johnstown wrestling faced a familiar foe Thursday.

Fo-Jo, which is competing in the Western Athletic Conference this season, hosted former Foothills Council rival Amsterdam at Fonda-Fultonville High School.

The Rams won 11 of 14 weight classes on their way to a 64-15 victory — their second win in as many nights after defeating Schuylerville 57-24 on Wednesday.

After Zenmatsu Myles collected a forfeit victory at 113 for Fonda-Johnstown, Amsterdam reeled off seven straight victories to surge to a 40-6 lead.

Brennan Rivas (120 pounds) started the run with an 11-3 major decision over Fonda-Johnstown’s Justin Kearns, while David Montalvo pinned Marquise Johnson in 5:06 at 126 pounds.

The Rams’ Tyler Krackow collected a forfeit win at 132 pounds to make it 16-6

Anthony Kelly (138), Nick Rodecker (145), Jacob Garcia (152) and Damian Montalvo (160) followed with four straight pins to push the Amsterdam lead to 40-6.

Kyle Gray stopped the Amsterdam win streak, posting a hard-fought 6-4 victory over the Rams’ Randy Faria at 170 pounds to make the score 40-9.

Amsterdam answered with pins by Robert Boyer at 182 pounds and Kyle Taylor at 195 pounds.

Na’Jon Subik earned the final victory of the night for Fonda-Johnstown with a pin at 220 pounds.

Mike Rieken and Carlos Montalvo ended the match with pins at 285 and 99 pounds, respectively, for Amsterdam.

The match ended with a double forfeit at 106 pounds.

Amsterdam (5-3 overall) is scheduled to host the Montgomery County Duals on Saturday, while Fonda-Johnstown (1-1 overall) is slated to travel to Cobleskill-Richmondville on Saturday for a tournament.

Amsterdam 64, Fonda-Johnstown 15

113: Zenmatsu Myles (Fo-Jo) won by forfeit

120: Brennan Rivas (A) major dec. Justin Kearns, 11-3

126: David Montalvo (A) pinned Marquise Johnson, 5:06

132: Tyler Krackow (A) won by forfeit

138: Anthony Kelly (A) pinned Dom Lodestro, 2:43

145: Nick Rodecker (A) pinned Kyle Salamack, 1:48

152: Jacob Garcia (A) pinned Zach Maxson, 2:39

160: Damian Montalvo (A) pinned Cameron Sweet, 1;42

170: Kyle Gray (Fo-Jo) dec. Randy Faria Jr., 6-4

182: Robert Boyer (A) pinned Mike Rumberger, 1:04

195: Kyle Taylor (A) pinned Kyle Norton, 0:16

220: Na’Jon Subik (Fo-Jo) pined Nathan Lucente, 5:57

285: Mike Rieken (A) pinned Tristan Zito, 1:41

99: Carlos Montalvo (A) pinned Loretta Newcomer, 3:10

106: Double forfeit