Area players named Foothills all-stars

Gloversville's Marwan Abbas (17) is pressured by Queensbury's Matt Ricciardelli during a Foothills Council match Aug. 29 at Husky Field. Abbas recently was named a first-team Foothills Council all-star. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area players were among those named to the recently announced Foothills Council boys soccer all-star team.

Broadalbin-Perth had defender William Austin, goalkeeper Ian Halloran and midfielder Zachary Monks named to the first team, while Gloversville midfielder Marwan Abbas also earned first-team honors.

Earning second-team honors were Gloversville’s Raymond Strauser (forward), Amsterdam’s Ever Arevalo (forward), Broadalbin-Perth’s Devon Holz (forward) and Gloversville’s Brent Muhlberger (midfield).

Amsterdam’s Sam Phetteplace, Kevin Vargas, Rico Reyes, Randy Spraker and Yony Batres were named honorable mention, while Broadalbin-Perth’s Nicholas Myers, Kyle Denman, Jonathan Murphy, Hunter Monks and Jared Eipp also earned honorable-mention status.

Johnstown had Andy Sitterly, Charlie Brown, Matthew Boyle and Alex VanDeusen named honorable mention, while Gloversville’s Ryan Issa, Ryan Smith and Damian Bruce also were named honorable mention.

Queensbury’s Greg Maccharulo was named the league’s Most Valuable Player and a first-team all-star at forward.

The Spartans also had Ray Jones (defense), Zach Wiekierak (defense), Matt Ricciardelli (midfield), Teddy Borgos (forward) and Aidan Jordi-Donnelly (midfield) named first-team all-stars.

Schuylerville had Cam Alber (defense), Nick Budesheim (forward), Mike Lanfear (midfield) and Jared Gregorek (midfield) named to the first team.

Rounding out the first-team all-stars was Scotia-Glenville’s Chris Aldi (defense).

In addition to its first-team all-stars, Queensbury also had Peter Crawford (forward) and Drew Crawford (midfield) named to the second-team.

South Glens Falls had Lanning Torebka (defense), Thomas Linehan (forward), Justin Whittington (midfield) and Bobby Bruschini (midfield) named second-team all-stars, while Schuylerville’s Jared Everleth (defense), Zach Saddlemire (midfield) and Brandon Craft (goalkeeper) earned second-team honors.

Rounding out the second-team all-stars were Scotia-Glenville’s Matt Williams (midfield) Kyle Rankin (defense) and Jared O’Conner (forward); and Hudson Falls’ Shane Grimes (defense).

Queensbury had Alex Roca, Joe Drahos and Lucas McCane named honorable mention, while Hudson Falls had Alex Varney, Nick Heasley, Michael Hunt, Carter Lewis and Joe Potvin also were honored.

Rounding out the honorable-mention selections were Glens Falls’ Seth Davis; Scotia-Glenville’s Nick Nielsen; South Glens Falls’ Xander Holden, Collin Parker and Sebastian Maynard; and Schuylerville’s Derek Baldwin and Dyllon Burke.

2017 Foothills Council Boys Soccer All-Stars

MVP: Greg Maccharulo (Queensbury)

First Team

Defense: Cam Alber (Schuylerville), Ray Jones (Queensbury), Zach Wiekierak (Queensbury)

William Austin (Broadalbin-Perth), Chris Aldi (Scotia-Glenville)

Forward: Greg Maccharulo (Queensbury), Nick Budesheim (Schuylerville), Teddy Borgos (Queensbury)

Midfield: Matt Ricciardelli (Queensbury), Aidan Jordi-Donnelly (Queensbury), Mike Lanfear (Schuylerville), Marwan Abbas (Gloversville), Jared Gregorek (Schuylerville), Zachary Monks (Broadalbin-Perth)

Goalkeeper: Ian Halloran (Broadalbin-Perth)

Second Team

Defense: Jared Everleth (Schuylerville), Shane Grimes (Hudson Falls), Kyle Rankin (Scotia-Glenville), Lanning Torebka (South Glens Falls)

Forward: Raymond Strauser (Gloversville), Peter Crawford (Queensbury), Thomas Linehan (South Glens Falls), Ever Arevalo (Amsterdam), Devon Holz (Broadalbin-Perth), Jared O’Conner (Scotia-Glenville)

Midfield: Bobby Bruschini (South Glens Falls), Zach Saddlemire (Schuylerville), Brent Muhlberger (Gloversville), Matt Williams (Scotia-Glenville), Justin Whittington (South Glens Falls), Drew Crawford (Queensbury)

Goalkeeper: Brandon Craft (Schuylerville)

Honorable Mention

Amsterdam: Sam Phetteplace, Kevin Vargas, Rico Reyes, Randy Spraker, Yony Batres

Broadalbin-Perth: Nicholas Myers, Kyle Denman, Jonathan Murphy, Hunter Monks, Jared Eipp

Glens Falls: Seth Davis

Gloversville: Ryan Issa, Ryan Smith, Damian Bruce

Hudson Falls: Alex Varney, Nick Heasley, Michael Hunt, Carter Lewis, Joe Potvin

Johnstown: Andy Sitterly, Charlie Brown, Matthew Boyle, Alex VanDeusen

Scotia-Glenville: Nick Nielsen

South Glens Falls: Xander Holden, Collin Parker, Sebastian Maynard

Queensbury: Alex Roca, Joe Drahos, Lucas McCane

Schuylerville: Derek Baldwin, Dyllon Burke