Fulton County’s top athletes honored

OESJ’s Brundage named top female athlete, Johnstown’s Wager earns male award

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville's Adelina Brundage, left, and Johnstown's Benjamin Wager, right, pose with their awards after they received the Male and Female Athlete of the Year honors at the Fulton Montgomery Regional Chamber of Commerce Sports Award Banquet at the Holiday Inn in Johnstown on Wednesday. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

JOHNSTOWN — For the 30th consecutive year, the Fulton Montgomery Regional Chamber of Commerce honored the top local athletes and championship teams at its annual Sports Award Banquet on Wednesday at the Holiday Inn.

More than 200 people attended the banquet honoring the top 36 senior athletes from Broadalbin-Perth, Gloversville, Johnstown, Mayfield, Northville and Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville with the highlight of the night being the naming of the Fulton County Male and Female Athletes of the Year.

Johnstown’s Ben Wager received the top honor as Male Athlete of the Year, while Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville standout, Adelina Brundage, was honored as the Female Athlete of the Year.

“This is great. Everyone wants to win this award,” Wager said. “There are a lot of great athletes here tonight. You play to win every game, but as an individual athlete you want to win this award.”

Wager is a three-sport athlete for the Sir Bills, lettering in varsity golf, basketball and baseball.

He led the golf team to the Section II championship and served as the team captain and team MVP for the past two years. Wager was also a first team Foothills Council all-star and a New York State Public High School Athletic Association Scholar Athlete in golf and basketball.

In basketball, Wager was named the team captain and Most Valuable Player in his senior year and was selected as a Foothills Council third team all-star.

After leading the Sir Bills baseball team in a sectional semifinal run, Wager was named team MVP and is anticipated to be named to a Foothills all-star squad.

He plans on continuing his baseball career next year while attending Herkimer College.

“I am excited for that. They have a great program and the coach is awesome,” Wager said. “I have to thank coach [Jon] Jennings and coach [Aaron] Mraz for baseball, coach [Matt] Guzielek for basketball and coach [Mark] Ralbovsky for golf. They have all been great.”

Wager also was involved in the community working in the soup kitchen at his church along with delivering book bags of food for elementary kids every Friday in the school year and was a member of the Captain’s Council that visited Wells House.

Brundage also is a three-sport athlete, competing on the Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville soccer and basketball teams and was a member of the schools first combined track and field team with Fort Plain this spring.

“I was very surprised because there are a lot of great athletes and being from a small school I didn’t expect it,” Brundage said of hearing her name called for the top honor. “When they mentioned third team all-state and 50 career goals and I thought is this me. Then they continued with basketball and doing track for the first year.”

Brundage was a four-year starter, a first-team Western Athletic Conference all-star, an all Section II athlete and third team all-state player for the Lady Wolves’ soccer team and played on two sectional championship teams.

In basketball she was a three-year varsity starter and was selected a second team WAC all-star in her senior year.

“I focused on soccer and then this year they offered track for the first time and I thought since I was going to college next year I would try something new go out for it and I had an awesome time,” she said.

Brundage, who plans on attending SUNY Cortland in the fall, also organized a bracelet sale and fundraiser to help out a student in need in the school district.

At the banquet, the chamber also honored individual champions Madison Fancher and Sierra Fancher of Gloversville, Jeff Derwin of Broadalbin-Perth, Tyler Brado of Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville and Trevor Askew of Johnstown.

Madison Fancher won the Section II indoor track high jump, while Sierra Fancher won the Group 2 outdoor triple jump championship.

Derwin won the sectional shot put and discus championships and will compete in the NYSPHSAA championship meet this weekend. Askew was honored for his accomplishment of winning the 200 individual medley and advancing to the state swimming championships.

Brado won the Section II high jump championship and will also compete for the state championship this weekend at Union-Endicott High School.

Also honored were the Foothills Council champion Gloversville tennis team, Foothills Council co-champion Broadalbin-Perth boys soccer team, Western Athletic Conference Hudson Division champion Mayfield boys soccer team, Section II champion Johnstown golf team, Johnstown girls Group 3 champion 4×800 relay team of Alayna Gray, Molly Lake, Abigail Gottung and Aylene Newman and the Broadalbin-Perth boys Section II championship 4×100 relay team of Chris Wagner, Jacob Bunker, Zach Johnson and Ivan Roberts that will also compete at the state championships this weekend.

Fulton County Athletes of the Year


2017: Benjamin Wager, Johnstown

2016: Dylan Klock, Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville

2015: Jake Coveney, Broadalbin-Perth

2014: Andre Taylor, Broadalbin-Perth

2013: Joe Nellis, Johnstown

2012: Mitch Vdoviak, Johnstown

2011: Jon Briggs, Northville

2010: Mike VanNostrand, Northville; D.J. Hoagboon, Mayfield

2009: Gabe Wells, Gloversville

2008: Dan Schulz, Broadalbin-Perth

2007: Kevin Kucel, Gloversville

2006: Tom Montano, Gloversville

2005: Kyle Canary, Mayfield; Stephen Tychostup, Mayfield

2004: L.B. McCloskey, Gloversville

2003: Noah Flint, Gloversville

2002: Ben McGuire, Gloversville

2001: John Davenport, Broadalbin-Perth

2000: Dan Cornell, Broadalbin-Perth

1999: Justin DeMagistris, Gloversville

1998: Colin Hughes, Broadalbin-Perth

1997: Jason Doviak, Broadalbin-Perth

1996: Steve Lawrence, Northville

1995: Adam Barnhart, Johnstown

1994: Matt Hemstreet, Broadalbin-Perth

1993: David Clarke, Mayfield

1992: Shawn Flynn, Gloversville

1991: Brian Clawson, Johnstown

1990: Matt Swedick, Johnstown; Chris Ciaccio, Gloversville

1989: Matt Goodemote, Gloversville

1988: Tom Ciaccio, Gloversville


2017: Adelina Brundage, Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville

2016: Kaylee Bumpus, Mayfield

2015: Chelsea LeBlanc, Broadalbin-Perth

2014: Chanel Thomas, Gloversville

2013: Alexis Capasso, Gloversville

2012: Brynn Hlozansky, Johnstown

2011: Jade Woodend, Mayfield

2010: Rebecca Graudons, Mayfield

2009: Chelsea Paul, Northville

2008: Chelsea Gruet, Broadalbin-Perth

2007: Kristen Bouchard, Oppenheim-Ephratah

2006: Kayla May, Johnstown; Kristin Mraz, Johnstown

2005: Katie Lowerre, Northville

2004: Carla Cosselman, Mayfield

2003: Melanie Hamm, Johnstown

2002: Megan Olds, Gloversville

2001: Mary Ellis, Gloversville

2000: Missy Krempa, Johnstown

1999: Kate Underwood, Johnstown

1998: Angie Gray, Oppenheim-Ephratah

1997: Heidi Gifford, Northville; Jill Gifford, Northville

1996: Amber Smith, Johnstown

1995: Cynthia Oppenheimer, Oppenheim-Ephratah

1994: Jocelyn Naple, Broadalbin-Perth; Nicolle Flood, Mayfield

1993: Stephanie Hart, Johnstown

1992: Joanne Einemann, Mayfield; Jenn Groff, Northville

1991: Jeanne Dupree, Gloversville

1990: Stacie Hime, Mayfield

1989: Amy Jane Lilie, Johnstown

1988: Katrina Springer, Broadalbin-Perth