Area riders post strong showings at Royal

Shane Graham (715) and Jordan Ryle (718) battle during 12-inch pit bike class action Wednesday at Royal Mountain Ski Area in Caroga Lake. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

CAROGA LAKE — A total of 117 riders were in attendance for the opening night of Monster Energy Supercross competition at Royal Mountain Ski Area on Wednesday.

Fonda’s Tyler Blowers and Johnstown’s Casey Battisti each picked up wins in two different classes on opening night.

Blowers won the 122-250 novice and 122-open novice classes, while Battisti won the 122-250 amateur and 122-open amateur classes.

Six other area riders opened the supercross season with victories Wednesday.

Johnstown’s Maxx Miller (50cc pee wee senior 7-8), Gloversville’s Jordan Ryle (12-inch pit bike),

Bennett Melita (74) looks to avoid Tim Wilmot during mini 60 7-to-11 class action Wednesday at Royal Mountain Ski Area in Caroga Lake. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

Pattersonville’s Mike Baker (plus-30 amateur), Stratford’s Tom Hogan (plus-40 amateur), Broadalbin’s Fred Hansen (quad amateur) and Mayfield’s Jordan Miller (quad schoolboy) all won their respective classes.

Jordan Miller also was fifth in the mini 80 12-to-15-year-old class.

In addition to Blowers and Battisti, Westerlo’s Blake Shaver claimed victories in two different classes Wednesday. Shaver won the junior mini 9-to-11-year-old and mini 80 9-to11-year-old classes.

Other winners included Saratoga Springs’ Kenneth DeRidder (122-125 two-stroke), Westerlo’s Travis Sisson (122-250 expert), East Berne’s Triton Hofelich (50cc pee wee junior 4-6), Scotia’s Brennan Rodecker (mini 60 7-11), Cobleskill’s Joe Edwards (mini 80 12-15), Saratoga Springs’ Blake Conroy (mini quad 50cc), Rock City Falls’ Cody Milanese (mini quad 51-90cc), Saratoga Springs’ Isaac Lawyer (open mini 10-16), Berlin’s Michael Lawlor (plus-30 expert) and Queensbury’s Owen Bell (quad novice).

Several area riders posted top-five finishes.

In the 122-125 two-stroke class, Fonda’s Carter Petersen was second, Gloversville’s Ryan Whitehouse was fourth and Nelliston’s Tyler Dygert was fifth.

Peterson also was second in the open mini 10-to-16-year-old class.

Gloversville’s Salvatore Attigiato was second in the 122-250 amateur class, while Gloversville’s Tommy Perham was fifth.

In the quad amateur class, Broadalbin’s Colby Watras was second and Pattersonville’s Dakota Black was fourth.

Fultonville’s Sheldon Wayman was fifth in the 122-open novice, while Mayfield’s Andrew Ashley was second in the quad novice class.

In the mini 80 12-to-15-year-old class, Johnstown’s Hayden Zelich was second and Fonda’s Charles Rose was third.

Johnstown’s Michael Ward was second in the plus-30 expert class, while Tribes Hill’s Tim Newkirk was fourth.

Johnstown’s Bennett Melita was third in the junior mini 9-to-11 class and third in the mini 60 7-to-11-year-old class.

Fonda’s Timothy Wilmot was fifth in the mini 60 7-to-11-year-old class, while Gloversville’s Shane Graham was second in the 12-inch pit bike class.

In the quad schoolboy class, Fonda’s Skyler Olmstead was third and Amsterdam’s Courtney Trombley was fourth.

For more information, visit the Royal Mountain website,

Monster Energy Supercross

at Royal Mountain Ski Area

122-125 Two-Stroke: 1. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 2. Carter Petersen (Fonda), 3. Trevor Quayle (Mohawk), 4. Ryan Whitehouse (Gloversville), 5. Tyler Dygert (Nelliston)

122-250 Amateur: 1. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 2. Salvatore Attigiato (Gloversville), 3. Carter Gibbons (Scotia), 4. Trevor Quayle (Mohawk), 5. Tommy Perham

122-250 Expert: 1. Travis Sisson (Westerlo)

122-250 Novice: 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Bryce Mussen (Burnt Hills), 3. Erin Demers (Troy), 4. Nicholas Fratine (South Glens Falls), 5. Austin Jesmain (Mechanicville)

122-Open Amateur: 1. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 2. Cameron Suriano (Mechanicville)

122-Open Novice: 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Bryce Mussen (Burnt Hills), 3. Trevor Sisson (Westerlo), 4. Austin Jesmain (Mechanicville), 5. Sheldon Wayman (Fultonville)

50cc Pee Wee Junior (4-6): 1. Triton Hofelich (East Berne)

50cc Pee Wee Senior (7-8): 1. Maxx Miller (Johnstown), 2. Brady Rodecker (Scotia), 3. Chloe Sprague (Glens Falls)

Junior Mini (9-11, 59-85cc): 1. Blake Shaver (Westerlo), 2. Joseph Brouthers (Indian Lake), 3. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 4. Brennan Rodecker (Scotia), 5. Trevor Stempel (Berne)

Mini 60: (7-11): 1. Brennan Rodecker (Scotia), 2. Brydon Broe (Queensbury), 3. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 4. Trevor Stempel (Berne), 5. Timothy Wilmot (Fonda)

Mini 80 (12-15): 1. Joe Edwards (Cobleskill), 2. Hayden Zelich (Johnstown), 3. Charles Rose (Fonda), 4. Deegan Thrasher (Holland Patent), 5. Jordan Miller (Mayfield)

Mini 80 (9-11): 1. Blake Shaver (Westerlo), 2. Joseph Brouthers (Indian Lake)

Mini Quad (50cc): 1. Blake Conroy (Saratoga Springs)

Mini Quad (51-90cc): 1. Cody Milanese (Rock City Falls), 2. Rian Hynes (Esperance)

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Isaac Lawyer (Saratoga Springs), 2. Carter Petersen (Fonda), 3. Jacob Slabe (Mohawk), 4. Joe Edwards (Cobleskill), 5. Ken DelSignore (East Greenbush)

Pit Bike (12-inch): 1. Jordan Ryle (Gloversville), 2. Shane Graham (Gloversville)

Plus-30 Amateur: 1. Mike Baker (Pattersonville), 2. Brian McGrath (Averill Park)

Plus-30 Expert: 1. Michael Lawlor (Berlin), 2. Michael Ward (Johnstown), 3. Scott Lindholm (New Berlin), 4. Tim Newkirk (Tribes Hill)

Plus-40 Amateur: 1. Tom Hogan (Stratford)

Quad Amateur: 1. Fred Hansen (Broadalbin), 2. Colby Watras (Broadalbin), 3. Daniel Wetsell (Central Bridge), 4. Dakota Black (Pattersonville), 5. Peter Miller (Troy)

Quad Novice: 1. Owen Bell (Queensbury), 2. Andrew Ashley (Mayfield)

Quad Schoolboy: 1. Jordan Miller (Mayfield), 2. Mason St. John-Lemery (Queensbury), 3. Skyler Olmstead (Fonda), 4. Courtney Trombley (Amsterdam), 5. William Bell (Queensbury)