Area riders post strong showings at Royal

CAROGA LAKE – Six area riders picked up wins during Monster Energy Supercross competition Wednesday at Royal Mountain Ski Area.

Fort Plain’s Zackery Kollar, Fonda’s Tyler Blowers, Mayfield’s Jordan Miller, Fort Plain’s Jake Tennis, Mayfield’s B.J. Smith and Northville’s Eric Junquera all claimed wins in their respective classes.

Blowers won the mini 80cc 12- to 15-year-old and open mini 10- to 16-year-old classes, while Miller won the mini quad 51-90cc production class.

Tennis won the 10-inch pit bike class, Junquera won the quad expert class, Smith won the plus-30 expert class and Kollar won the 122-250 amateur class.

Kollar also finished second in the 122-open amateur class.

In addition to Blowers, Granville’s Richie Smith and Westerlo’s Travis Sisson also posted two wins on Wednesday.

Smith won the junior mini 9- to 11-year-old and mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old classes, while Sisson win the 122-250 novice and 122-open novice classes.

Smith also placed fourth in the open mini 10- to 16-year-old class

Also posting wins were Waterville’s Pete Schachtler (122-250 expert), Coxsackie’s Joshua Wolfe (122-open amateur), Westerlo’s Frank Hempstead III (122-open expert), Niverville’s Mason Haberek (50cc pee wee senior 7-8), Cobleskill’s Joe Edwards (mini 80cc 9-11), Rock City Falls’ Cody Milanese (mini quad 50cc production), Ravena’s Pat DiBiase (pit bike 12-inch), Troy’s Todd Cameron (plus-30 amateur), Queensbury’s Tyler Jarvis (quad amateur), Queensbury’s Connor Cross (quad novice) and Mason Mickle of Lanesborough, Mass.

Hempstead also finished second in the 122-250 expert class.

Several area riders posted top-five finishes.

In the 122-250 amateur class, Broadalbin’s Xavier Folts was second and Palatine Bridge’s Dan Herting was fifth.

Folts also placed fifth in the 122-open amateur class.

Gloversville’s Reid Persch was third in the 122-250 novice class and fourth in the 122-open novice class.

Johnstown’s Adam Handy was third in the 122-open expert class, while Johnstown’s Maxx Miller was fifth in the 50cc pee wee junior 4- to 6-year-old class.

Jack Miller placed fifth in the 50cc pee wee senior 7- and 8-year-old class, while Johnstown’s Hayden Zelich was third in the mini 80cc 9- to 11-year-old class and fourth in the junior mini 9- to 11-year-old class.

In the mini 80cc 12- to 15-year-old class, Johnstown’s Brandon Handy was second and Gloversville’s Ryan Whitehouse was fourth.

Handy also was third in the open mini 10- to 16-year-old class.

In the 12-inch pit bike class, Broadalbin’s Stephen Piska was second, Broadalbin’s Austin Becker was fourth and Johnstown’s Darryl Sanchez was fifth.

Johnstown’s Bennett Melita was fifth in the junior mini 9- to 11-year-old class and second in the mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old class.

In the plus-30 expert class, Johnstown’s Todd Cleveland was second, Johnstown’s Michael Ward was third, Fonda’s Clayton Blowers was fourth and Esperance’s Matt Dwyer was fifth.

Gloversville’s Sean Dufel was third in the plus-30 amateur class, while Broadalbin’s Colby Watras was second in the quad amateur class.

Royal Mountain will be back in action next Wednesday, with practice scheduled to begin at 7 p.m.

For more information, log on to the Royal Mountain website at

Monster Energy Supercross

at Royal Mountain Ski Area

122-250 Amateur: 1. Zackery Kollar, 2. Xavier Folts, 3. Ryan West, 4. Ryan Daly, 5. Dan Herting

122-250 Expert: 1. Pete Schachtler, 2. Frank Hempstead III, 3. Blake Ovitt, 4. Christopher Ray

122-250 Novice: 1. Travis Sisson, 2. Billy Bashwinger, 3. Reid Persch, 4. Britney Wager, 5. Robert Burl

122-Open Amateur: 1. Joshua Wolfe, 2. Zackery Kollar, 3. Kyle Brandow, 4. Ryan Daly, 5. Xavier Folts

122-Open Expert: 1. Frank Hempstead III, 2. Joseph Vitetta, 3. Adam Handy, 4. Greg Cleveland, 5. Blake Ovitt

122-Open Novice: 1. Travis Sisson, 2. Robert Burl, 3. Salvatore Attigiato, 4. Reid Persch, 5. Billy Bashwinger

50cc Pee Wee Junior (4-6): 1. Mason Mickle, 2. Deacon Brown, 3. Chloe Sprague, 4. Brady Rodecker, 5. Maxx MIller

50cc Pee Wee Senior (7-8): 1. Mason Haberek, 2. Robert Sprague, 3. Blake Shaver, 4. Brydon Broe, 5. Jack Miller

Junior Mini (9-11): 1. Richie Smith, 2. Joe Edwards, 3. David Nitto, 4. Hayden Zelich, 5. Bennett Melita

Mini 60cc (7-11): 1. Richie Smith, 2. Bennett Melita, 3. David Nitto, 4. Mason Haberek, 5. Joseph Brouthers

Mini 80cc (12-15): 1. Tyler Blowers, 2. Brandon Handy, 3. Isaac Lawyer, 4. Ryan Whitehouse, 5. Molly Brouthers

Mini Quad (50cc production): 1. Cody Milanese, 2. Axton Woodard

Mini Quad (51-90cc production): 1. Jordan Miller, 2. Dareck Graham, 3. Wyndam Spponer, 4. Duncan Whitmore

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Tyler Blowers, 2. Jared Cordero, 3. Brandon Handy, 4. Richie Smith, 5. Isaac Lawyer

Pit Bike (10-inch): 1. Jake Tennis (Fort Plain)

Pit Bike (12-inch): 1. Pat DiBiase, 2. Stephen Piska, 3. James Pearce, 4. Austin Becker, 5. Darryl Sanchez

Plus 30 Amateur: 1. Todd Cameron, 2. Ken Hodinger, 3. Sean Dufel, 4. Edward Ladd Jr. 5. Ron Nolin

Plus 30 Expert: 1. B.J. Smith, 2. Todd Cleveland, 3. Michael Ward, 4. Clayton Blowers, 5. Matt Dwyer

Quad Amateur: 1. Tyler Jarvis, 2. Colby Watras, 3. Michael O’Connell

Quad Expert: 1. Eric Junquera, 2. Chris Hoffarth, 3. Dylan Roes, 4. Kyle McAlister

Quad Novice: 1. Connor Cross, 2. Darrich Maille, 3. Kip Simonds Jr.