Sitterly, Lavery and LaTulip crack top 25 in Oswego’s all-time points

Seven-time Oswego Speedway track champion Otto Sitterly of Canajoharie is now 13th in all-time points for the supermodifieds. (Photo courtesy of Sue Kells)

OSWEGO — Following a six year hiatus, all-time points for Oswego Speedway’s trademark 900-horsepower supermodifieds have finally been completed and posted up to date ahead of the track’s 68th consecutive season of action set to begin May 26.

Besting a total of 588 drivers who have competed in the supermodified division at Oswego since 1962, Joe Gosek has officially emerged as the speedway’s new all-time points leader with an impressive total of 32,606 career points.

Scoring more top-five finishes than any other driver at the track in 2017 played a key role in allowing Gosek to pass Jim Shampine, Steve Gioia Jr, and Eddie Bellinger Jr. all within the past six seasons.

Joining Gosek are several other current supermodified campaigners who have moved as far up as inside the top 15. Tim Snyder, the 2001 Budweiser International Classic 200 champion, moved up one spot to 12th at 16,732. The top 10 is now in reach for the ‘Zero Hero.’

Just behind Snyder is 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2014 supermodified track champion Otto Sitterly, of Canajoharie, who soared from 31st on the list to all the way up inside the top 15 after a half dozen more stout years with car owner John Nicotra.

Further back in the top 20, longtime campaigner Pat Lavery, who scored his first win in more than 15 years of trying with Hoefer/Samuels Racing in June of 2013, has made his way up to 17th on the all-time list.

Howard Page, who returned to supermodified racing in 2014, was able to move up two spots to crack the top 20, while veteran Hal LaTulip improved from 39th to 23rd to mark the last active driver inside the illustrious top 25.

Sitting just outside that top 25 are Dave McKnight and Bobby Bond, who each competed at the speedway this year as well as Randy Ritskes, who last saw action at Oswego back in 2014 when he drove to three victories on the season for car owner Ken Locke.

Despite making his Oswego return for the first time in over a decade in 2017, Jeff West has dropped four spots down to 36th all-time, just ahead of current car owner Jerry Curran, who has now moved into the top 40 all-time surpassing Pat Abold, Fred Graves, Bob Goutermout, and more. Eight-time feature winner Ray Graham Jr. finishes the list of drivers who have competed since 2011 to make the top 50.

Five of the division’s current stars sit closely knit together within 12 spots as 2016 track champion Michael Barnes, defending Mr. supermodified Dave Gruel, first time winner in 2017 Keith Shampine, another recent feature winner in Brandon Bellinger, and 10-time winner in the past six years Dave Danzer are now 57th, 58th, 61st, 67th, and 69th in all-time points, respectively. Dan Connors Jr, who has been almost an entirely full-time driver since 2011, is still looking for his first win after several second place finishes, but has still been able to move to 72nd in all-time points.

Driving for Strong, Graham and Penix Racing all within the past six years, the ‘Jersey Jet’ Joey Payne has made the top 75 at just over 5,000 points with more Oswego appearances expected for Payne in 2018 that could see the Fairlawn, N.J. driver move up as far as 10 more spots.

Remaining drivers to compete in the past six years that sit within the top 100 include second generation driver and now three-time feature winner Michael Muldoon (82nd), fourteen-time top-five finisher Stephen Gioia III (84th), three-time feature winner Jeff Holbrook (85th), 2002 track champion Shawn Muldoon (86th), another second generation driver and many time winner in Kody Graham (89th), the ‘original’ Mr. supermodified Gene Lee Gibson (91st), recent breakout driver Tim Devendorf (92nd), 2016 International Classic Champion Jeff Abold (97th), returning competitor and many time feature winner Shaun Gosselin, who rounds out the top 100.

The full 2018 schedule for Oswego Speedway, set to open with the Jim Shampine Memorial Twin 50s on May 26, has been posted online at Season ticket information, pricing, and time schedules will be added after Jan. 1. All kids 16 and younger will remain free with a paid adult this coming season.