Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS
 
 
 

2013-14 Dolgeville Volleyball Preview: Ready to Reload

Dolgeville has plenty of newcomers for new season

November 26, 2013
By JAMES A. ELLIS (sports@leaderherald.com) , The Leader Herald

DOLGEVILLE - Despite losing six players to graduation, the Dolgeville volleyball team figures to be in the thick of the battle for the Section III Class C-2 championship again this year.

Center State Conference first-team all-star Ashley Mettler heads the list of graduates along with setters Emily Young and Rachel Randall, middle hitter Emily Briggs, defensive specialist Chelsea Bennett and libero Kiersten Manchester.

However, Barb Allen enters her 37th season as Lady Blue Devils coach with a solid core of returning players as they reload for their drive for a 19th straight Center State Conference division title.

Article Photos

Dolgeville’s Mikey Rubas (11) battles Onondaga’s Lindsay Wachna during a Section III Class C-2 quarterfinal match Feb. 7 at Dolgeville High School. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Returning to the court for Dolgeville are Taylor Brandow and Mikey Rubas, who were awarded CSC honorable-mention status last year for the Section III C-2 sectional runner-up Lady Blue Devils. They are joined by Annabelle Lee, Abby Mosenthin and Courtney Rachon.

Newcomers to the varsity squad are Emilie Bode, Kaylee Brandow, Katie Millard, Camilla Rios, Courtney Normoyle and Cheyanne Sullivan.

"We are taller than usual and hard serving," Allen said. "We are trying to work out the kinks in our play and team chemistry."

Fact Box

Dolgeville Volleyball Schedule

Monday, December 2

Old Forge at Dolgeville, 7 p.m.

Saturday, December 7

Dolgeville Holiday Tournament, 9 a.m.

Monday, December 9

Dolgeville at Canastota, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, December 11

Adirondack at Dolgeville, 7 p.m.

Friday, December 13

Dolgeville at Herkimer, 7 p.m.

Monday, December 16

Dolgeville at Little Falls, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, December 18

Dolgeville at Cooperstown, 7 p.m.

Friday, December 20

Cooperstown at Dolgeville, 7 p.m.

Friday, December 27

Dolgeville at Canastota Tournament, 9 a.m.

Friday, January 3

Dolgeville at Watertown Tournament, 9 a.m.

Wednesday, January 8

Remsen at Dolgeville, 7 p.m.

Thursday, January 9

Dolgeville at Old Forge, 7 p.m.

Monday, January 13

Canastota at Dolgeville, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, January 15

Dolgeville at Frankfort-Schuyler, 7 p.m.

Friday, January 17

Herkimer at Dolgeville, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, January 21

Frankfort-Schuyler at Dolgeville, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, January 22

Little Falls at Dolgeville, 7 p.m.

Friday, January 24

Dolgeville at Remsen, 7 p.m.

Monday, January 27

Dolgeville at Adirondack, 7 p.m.

Saturday, February 1

Season Finale Tournament (Dolgeville), 9 a.m.

Dolgeville will open its season at home against Old Forge on Monday before hosting the annual Dolgeville Invitational Tournament on Dec. 7.

Dolgeville is the lone local school playing winter volleyball.

After the merger of the Oppenheim-Ephratah and St. Johnsville school districts the former St. JOE squad switched to Section II, which plays volleyball in the fall.

 
 

 

I am looking for:
in:
News, Blogs & Events Web