Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Area players earn all-state honors

December 17, 2012
By The Leader-Herald ( , The Leader Herald

Three area boys soccer players were among those recently honored as all-state selections.

Broadalbin-Perth's Tucker Wilcox, Mayfield's Dylan Toscano and Broadalbin-Perth's Mark Sylvia were all named to the small-school all-state team.

Wilcox, who also was named the Foothills Council Player of the Year, was named second-team all-state.

Article Photos

Mayfield’s Dylan Toscano, left, battles Fort Plain’s Zach Sweet (4) for the ball during a Section II Class C playoff game in Fort Plain on Oct. 26. Toscano recently was named the Section II Class C Most Valuable Player and third-team all-state among small schools. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

"Tucker has incredible field vision with a fantastic combination of speed and skill," Broadalbin-Perth Brian Henry said when Wilcox earned his Foothills Council honors. "Without a doubt, he can tell other teams in league were gameplanning around him. He would be double- and triple-team. He still managed to score goals and get assists."

Wilcox was the Patriots' leading scorer with 71 points in his senior year. He scored a team-high 27 goals and assisted on 17 others.

Toscano, who shared Western Athletic Conference Most Valuable Player honors with Mekeel Christian Academy's Tai Aderounmu, was named to the third team.

"Dylan's combination of speed and field vision made him the focal point of every team's defense. Despite this, he was not held scoreless once in the regular season," Mayfield coach Jon Caraco said when Toscano was named WAC MVP. "He was able to create his own goals as well as finish off opportunities created by others. He worked tirelessly to find open space on the field and stretch the opponents' defense."

Toscano, a senior forward, finished the season with 31 goals and 10 assists. In his career, Toscano piled up 64 goals and 20 assists.? "Dylan was remarkable at putting shots on target and challenging goalies. Both his accuracy and his range are uncommon attributes," Caraco said when discussing Toscano's WAC honors. "His talent has been recognized by area coaches as he is one of the few players I have seen be a league MVP two times."

Toscano also was the WAC MVP last season and earned second-team all-star honors as a sophomore.?Sylvia, a junior defender, was named a fourth-team all-state selection.

Sylvia, who was named a first-team Foothills Council all-star, had seven goals and three assists this season.

Other Section II players named to the small-school all-state team were Ichabod Crane's Tyler Jablanski (first team), Ichabod Crane's Justyn Verbraska (second team), Schalmont's Gino Rossi (third team), Mekeel Christian Academy's Tai Aderounmu (fourth team), Lake George's Mason Vreugde (fourth team), Hoosick Falls' Evan Phillips (fifth team) and Fort Ann's George Lehoisky (fifth team),

Five Section II players were named to the large-school all-state team. Earning the honors were Bethlehem's Ethan Gunty (first team), Shenendehowa's Chris Schmid (second team), Bethlehem's Alex Kessler (second team), Troy's Graeme Corrigan (third team) and Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake's Tim Hughes (fifth team).

In addition to earning all-state honors, Toscano also was named the Section II Class B Player of the Year at the Section II boys soccer banquet on Dec. 9.

Also earning Player of the Year honors were Bethlehem's Gunty (Class AA), Troy's Corrigan (Class A), Ichabod Crane's Jablanski (Class B) and Fort Ann's Lehoisky (Class D).

B-P's Wilcox and Sylvia were named finalists for the Class B Player of the Year award, while Northville's Matt Scunziano and Jimmy Grega were finalists for the Class D Player of the Year award.

Northville goalkeeper Tim Monette was named the Class D Keeper of the Year, while Fort Plain's Chris Hanifin was named the Class C Keeper of the Year. Hanifin shared the Class C award with Hoosick Falls' Noah Chani.

Monette, a junior, posted nine shutouts for the Falcons and was named a WAC North Division all-star.

Hanifin, a senior, also was named an overall WAC all-star and was the WAC Central Division's Most Valuable Player.

"Chris [Hanifin] and our team recorded seven shutouts this season, and to have a goalkeeper named as a MVP is a tremendous accomplishment," Fort Plain coach Casey Russom said when discussing Hanifin's WAC honors.

Also earning Keeper of the Year honors were Bethlehem's Kessler (Class AA), Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake's Kurtis Souza (Class A), Greenville's Matt Snow (Class B)

Johnstown's Andy Camarra (Class B) also was nominated for Keeper of the Year honors.

Fonda-Fultonville also was honored, collecting the Section II Class B Sportsmanship Award.

Also earning Sportsmanship Awards were LaSalle (Class AA), Queensbury (Class A), Berne-Knox-Westerlo (Class C) and North Warren (Class D).

Earning Section II Coach of the Year honors were Bethlehem's Phil Ridgway (Class AA), Troy's Mike Murnane (Class A), Ichabod Crane's Mattias Nordgren (Class B), Hoosick Falls' Mike Young (Class C) and Fort Ann's Rich McCabe (Class D).

Broadalbin-Perth's Henry (Class B), St. Johnsville's Travis Heiser (Class D) and Northville's Clapper (Class D) were nominated for Coach of the Year honors.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web