Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Canjo-Fort Plain finishes fourth at duals

December 16, 2012
By JAMES A. ELLIS ( , The Leader Herald

CANAJOHARIE - At the 2011 Canajoharie-Fort Plain Wrestling Duals, Cobleskill-Richmondville recorded only two wins and finished fourth in the team standings.

On Saturday, the Bulldogs returned to Canajoharie High School with a full line up and posted a 5-0 record to claim the 2012 team championship.

"I just think from last year to this year the difference was numbers," Cobleskill-Richmondville coach Justin Kimball said. "Last year we gave up six forfeits here and this year we had the same amount of kids but we filled the weight classes and that is huge in wrestling."

Article Photos

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Jordan Griswold puts the finishing touches on his 160-pound pinfall victory over Catskill’s Mykael Farris at the Canajoharie-Fort Plain Duals on Saturday at Canajoharie High School. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

The Bulldogs opened the tournament with a 63-21 victory over Berne-Knox-Westerlo and backed it up with a 72-15 win over Catskill.

Kimball said the pivotal match for his team was, "definitely the Catskill match. They had a full lineup and we went out there and posted a 72. When we did that the kids believed they could win it all today."

Cobleskill-Richmondville wrapped up the title with a 60-27 win over Hadley Luzerne-Lake George before topping Green Tech 72-8 and closing out the day with a 71-18 win over host Canajoharie-Fort Plain.

"We had eight wrestlers go 5-0 today with A.J. Fletcher pinning his way through in a total time of 5:14 in the 132-pound weight class," Kimball said.

Catskill (4-1) took home the runner-up trophy followed by Hadley Luzerne-Lake George (3-2), Canajoharie-Fort Plain (2-3), Berne-Knox-Westerlo (1-4) and Green Tech (0-5).

"It was a successful tournament," Canajoharie-Fort Plain coach Todd Jones said. "The competition level was real high again this year and there were some really competitive matchups all day long."

Gordon Trahan was named C-FP's Most Outstanding Wrestler for the tournament. Trahan went 4-1 on the day with four pinfall victories in the 126 and 132-pound divisions. Tim Hazzard posted a 5-0 record for CFP in the tournament with two pins and received three forfeits in the 99-pound weight class.

Jordan Griswold also had a strong outing for Canajoharie-Fort Plain, recording four wins with two pins and two decisions.

"We had a couple of wins and finished right about where I figured we would," Jones said. "There were some surprise winners along the way. We are a young squad and we were looking to give kids a lot of mat time out there today."

Canajoharie-Fort Plain 60, Green Tech 24

99: Tim Hazzard (CFP) by forfeit.

106: Double forfeit.

113: Jon Payack (CFP) by forfeit.

120: Double forfeit.

126: Gordon Trahan (CFP pinned Dhimitrie Morris , 3:27.

132: Anthony Brock (CFP) pinned Nascier Jonas, 1:17.

138: Ken Sullivan (CFP) pinned Alvin McNeill, 1:19.

145: Hans Hudyncia, (CFP) by forfeit.

152: Tim Roberson (CFP) by forfeit.

160: Jordan Griswold (CFP) dec. Jim McGill, 6-2.

170: Nate Collins (GT) by forfeit.

182: Robert Herse (GT) by forfeit.

195: Morgan VanAvery (CFP) pinned Jacob Johnson, 3:51.

220: Gene Ryan (CFP) by forfeit.

285: Jamal Johnson (GT) by forfeit.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain 33, Berne-Knox-Westerlo 30

106: Double forfeit.

113: Jon Payack (CFP) pinned Stephen DeGroff, :33.

120: Christian Peters (BKW) pinned Dustin Rockwell, 1:27.

126: Anthony Pasquini (BKW) pinned Soren Hudyncia, 5:39.

132: Gordon Trahan (CFP) pinned Jon Crammond, :22.

138: Ken Sullivan (CFP) by forfeit.

145: Cody Fisher (BKW) pinned Hans Hudyncia, :30.

152: Dom Woodmanzee (BKW) pinned Tim Roberson, 3:17.

160: Jordan Griswold (CFP) dec. Jim McGill, 6-2.

170: Double forfeit.

182: Double forfeit.

195: Morgan VanAvery (CFP) by forfeit.

220: Double forfeit.

285: Joe Sprung (BKW) pinned Gene Ryan, 1:11

99: Tim Hazzard (CFP) by forfeit.

Catskill 60, Canajoharie-Fort Plain 30

113: Alex Griffin (Cat) pinned Ed Rolle, 3:50.

120: Tristen Roller (Cat) pinned Robert Thomas, :21..

126: Gordon Trahan (CFP) pinned Mike Petrocelli, :34.

132: Anthony Brock (CFP) pinned Eric Piriano, 3:14.

138: Caleb Davis (Cat) pinned Ken Sullivan, 1:35

145: Matt Davis (Cat) pinned Hans Hudyncia, :47.

152: Louis Martinez (Cat) by injury default.

160: Jordan Griswold (CFP) pinned Mykael Farris, 1:19.

170: Joe Costello (Cat) by forfeit.

182: Brandon Gille (Cat) by forfeit.

195: Logan Mudge (Cat) pinned Morgan VanAvery :49.

220: Gene Ryan (CFP) pinned Jamel Wright, 2:30.

285: John Farace (Cat) by forfeit

99: Tim Hazzard (CFP) pinned Andrew Davis, :32

106: Rachel Weber (Cat) by forfeit.

Hadley Luzerne-Lake George 57,

Canajoharie-Fort Plain 18

120: Patrick Wethrbee (HLLG pinned Robert Thomas, 2:23.

126: Daniel Jardine (HLLG) pinned Gordon Trahan, :47.

132: Jamie Dolan (HLLG) dec. Anthony Brock, 5-4.

138: Ken Sullivan (CFP) by forfeit.

145: Todd Woodcock (HLLG) pinned Hans Hudyncia, 5:30.

152: Alex Olsen (HLLG) by forfeit.

160: Jordan Griswold (CFP) pinned Franke Mosher :38

170: Olin Tremaine (HLLG) by forfeit.

182: Double forfeit.

195: Tom Clark (HLLG) pinned Morgan VanAvery, 5:02.

220: Patrick Barber (HLLG) pinned Gene Ryan, 1:03.

285: Adam Agresta (HLLG) by forfeit.

99: Tim Hazzard (CFP) by forfeit.

106: Double forfeit.

113: Gideon Jardine (HLLG) pinned Owen Yerdon, 2:44.

Cobleskill-Richmondville 71, Canajoharie-Fort Plain 18

126: Gordon Trahan (CFP) pinned Devin Cooper, 3:24.

132: A.J. Fletcher (C-R) pinned Anthony Brock, :37.

138: Matt Davenport (C-R) pinned Ken Sullivan, :37.

145: Jack Cooper (C-R) pinned Hans Hudyncia, :50.

152: Taylor Epting (C-R) by forfeit.

160: Nick Rehberg (C-R) tech. fall Jordan Griswold, 4:08.

170: Dan Sperbeck (C-R) by forfeit.

182: Mike Green (C-R) by forfeit.

195: Derrick Knight (C-R) pinned Morgan VanAvery, :59.

220: Zach McFarland (C-R) pinned Gene Ryan, 2:32.

285: Jack Brown (C-R) by forfeit.

99: Tim Hazzard (C-FP) pinned Laine Pleickhardt, 1:56.

106: Shelby Davenport (C-R) by forfeit.

113: Joe Payack (C-FP) by forfeit.

120: Brandon Merchant (C-R) by forfeit.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web