Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Public hearing on new districts to be scheduled

December 10, 2012
By ARTHUR CLEVELAND , The Leader Herald

FONDA - Montgomery County supervisors will meet in a special session Tuesday to establish a public hearing to lay out the legislative districts to go with the new charter.

The charter, approved by county residents in November, requires a hearing on the legislative districts and the Board of Supervisors' approval before it can go into effect in January 2014.

According to a special agenda for Tuesday's meeting, the supervisors will meet before the scheduled personnel and finance committees to set the date for the public hearing, tentatively scheduled for Jan. 22 at 6:45 p.m.

The charter replaces the current system of a Board of Supervisors with nine district legislators, who will be elected for three-year terms.

Board Chairman John Thayer said there is still time for changes to be made to the districts.

The districts were originally split based on census data, but have been altered since then. Now, District 1 includes all of the town of St. Johnsville and the town of Minden, except for the village of Fort Plain, and parts of the towns of Canajoharie and Palatine. District 2 includes portions of the towns of Palatine, Canajoharie, Minden and Mohawk. District 3 includes parts of Canajoharie, Palatine and Root. District 4 includes all of Glen and Charleston and parts of Mohawk. District 5 contains all of Florida, portions of Mohawk and portions of the city and town of Amsterdam. District 6 contains portions of the city of Amsterdam, while Districts 7 through 9 contains portions of the city and the town of Amsterdam each.

Thayer said a finalized district map would be needed before the hearing.

"Nothing has been set in stone with a vote," Thayer said.

According to unofficial vote totals, the charter was approved in a vote of 7,964 to 4,984. In order to be approved, the proposal required majority approval in the city of Amsterdam as well as a cumulative majority among the 10 towns.

The charter places a limit of four consecutive terms on each legislator. An elected county executive position also will be created.

The county executive will be elected for a four-year term, with a maximum term limit of three consecutive full terms.

The executive post will be a full-time position, with a rule in place saying the executive will hold no other elected public or elected political office during his term.

The executive's powers and duties will include responsibilities such as executing and enforcing all laws and resolutions of the legislature, and exercising supervision and control over all administrative departments, offices and agencies of the county government.

The executive will have the ability to approve and veto any votes by the legislature.

The executive also will have the ability to appoint officials for all county departments not administered by elected officials.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web