Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Johnstown fall athletes earn Foothills all-star honors

December 10, 2012
The Leader Herald

JOHNSTOWN - Several Johnstown athletes were named Foothills Council all-stars this fall.

From the field hockey team, Emma Heroth, Ashley Dona, Kelsi Barnholt and Hope Cerasuolo were named first-team Foothills all-stars. Lindsay Brandt, Carissa O'Brien, Alyssa Pertell and Jenna Hohenforst were named to the second team, while Alexis Swatt earned honorable-mention status.

Dona finished her career with 39 goals and eight assists in her senior season for Johnstown, which finished with a 17-2 overall record. Dona's 39-goal total set a new single-season school record, eclipsing the previous mark of 38 set by Kayla May.

Article Photos

Several Johnstown fall athletes were named Foothills Council all-stars. (Photo submitted)

Heroth finished with 15 goals and 12 assists for the Lady Bills, while Barnholt posted 12 assists and one goal from her midfielder spot. Cerasuolo, a forward, registered 13 goals and 15 assists for the Lady Bills. Johnstown reached the Section II Class B championship game for the fifth straight year before losing to Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake.

Pertell posted 13 shutouts this season and allowed just eight goals for a 0.42 goals-against average.

Brandt, O'Brien and Hohenforst anchored the Lady Bills defense. Brandt posted three goals and two assists, O'Brien had two goals and two assists, and Hohenforst had one assists this season.

Swatt finished the season with 10 goals and six assists.

Goalie Andy Camarra was named a second-team Foothills Council boys soccer all-star, while Jonathan Heroth and Elijah Hill earned honorable-mention status.

Kayla Groesbeck of the girls soccer team was named a second-team Foothills Council all-star, while Courtney Cirillo earned honorable-mention status.

Alexis Berry was the lone Johnstown player to earn Foothills Council girls tennis all-star honors.

Zara Hyde and Annie Stock from the girls volleyball team were named first-team Foothills Council all-stars, while Elizabeth Hayward, Alyssa Nellis and Brianne O'Rourke earned second-team honors. Jerica Holland was named honorable mention.

Several Fonda-Johnstown swimmers also were among those recently honored as Foothills Council girls swimming all-stars.

Fonda-Johnstown junior Erica Askew was named to the first team in the 100-yard freestyle and 100 breaststroke, while senior Meghan Bartlett (1-meter diving) also was named to the first team.

The Fonda-Johnstown 200 medley relay team also was named to the first team. The relay team consisted of senior Hannah Palsgraf, eighth-grader Cecelia Mowrey, Bartlett and Askew.

Bartlett also was named a second-team all-star in the 50 freestyle, while Palsgraf was a second-team all-star in the 200 individual medley. Mowrey earned second-team honors in the 500 freestyle.

The Fonda-Johnstown 200 freestyle relay team of Askew, Palsgraf, Bartlett and freshman Erica Wagner also earned second-team honors.

Daeshan Buseck and Eric Brower from the boys cross-country team earned Foothills Council honorable-mention status, while Skylar Swatt from the girls cross-country team also was named honorable mention.

In addition to their Foothills Council honors, Stock (first team) and Zara Hyde (second team) were named to the Class B all-state team.

Heroth and Dona were named to the all-state Class B field hockey team.

Bartlett finished sixth at the state meet in the 1-meter diving competition, while Askew was 17th in the 100 breaststroke.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web