Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Several Amsterdam runners honored by Big 10

November 22, 2012
The Leader Herald

A total of 15 Amsterdam runners were among those selected on the recently announced Big 10 cross-country all-stars.

The Amsterdam girls placed four runners on the first team, two on the second team and had three other earn honorable-mention status.

Chantel Dopp, Deborah Johnson and Megan Ottati were named first-team all-stars for the Lady Rams.

Article Photos

Amsterdam’s Illenis Quinones, right, runs during the girls Class B race at the Section II?Cross Country Championships at Saratoga Spa State Park in Saratoga Springs on Nov. 2. Quinones recently was named a first-team Big 10 all-star. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

League champion Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons had Lilianna Matala, Claire Sise, Gwynn Sise and Talya Williams named to the first team.

Also named first-team all-stars were Schenectady's Megan Dufort and Troy's D'Asia Randall.

Kelly Paris and Caitlyn Adamchick were named second-team all-stars for Amsterdam

They were joined on the second team by Albany's Emily Patnaude and Alexa Pettit; Catholic Central's Julia Engster; Bishop Gibbons' Angelique Cain, Alison Lemme and Anne Ryan; and Schenectady's Leah Ketchen and Emma Ward.

Three Amsterdam runners earned honorable-mention status.

Danielle Fazio, Amber Natole and Sarah Thane all were named honorable mention for the Lady Rams.

Schenectady's Megan Doyle and Lisa Balissoon also earned honorable-mention status.

Bishop Gibbons coach Jon Broderick was named the girls Coach of the Year, while Christian Brothers Academy's Rick Mulvey was named boys Coach of the Year.

Nick Raponi was the lone Amsterdam runner to earn boys first-team honors.

League champion Bishop Gibbons had Jonah Allard, Jason Lange, Matt Lange, Jordan Pantalone and Nick Przekurat named first-team all-stars.

Also named to the first team were Albany's Philo Germano; CBA's Kaushik Pilar and Justin VanEpps; and LaSalle's Niall Coughlin and Alex Isabelle.

Amsterdam's Brett Flint and Nick Raponi were named second-team Big 10 all-stars.

Also named to the second team were Catholic Central's Robert Chaisson; CBA's Sean Glennon; Bishop Gibbons' Lucas Chico and Chris Homenick; Schenectady's Julian Canavan and Devin Fitzgerald; and Troy's Chris Quinones.

Amsterdam had three boys earn honorable-mention status.

Ian Alejandro, Pat Purtell and Josh Turo all were named honorable mention for the Rams.

Also named honorable mention were Albany's Alessio Fasullo and Conor Foley; Catholic Central's Steve Curry; CBA's Kieran Rock; LaSalle's Jack Dewey and Brandon Diaz; Bishop Gibbons' Stephan Dixon and Mike Sinkora; and Schenectady's Austin Liebers.

Big 10 Cross Country All-Stars


First Team

Philo Germano (Albany), Nick Raponi (Amsterdam), Kaushik Pilar (Christian Brothers Academy), Justin Van Epps (Christian Brothers Academy), Niall Coughlin (LaSalle), Alex Isabelle (LaSalle), Jonah Allard (Bishop Gibbons), Jason Lange (Bishop Gibbons), Matt Lange (Bishop Gibbons), Jordan Pantalone (Bishop Gibbons), Nick Przekurat (Bishop Gibbons).

Second Team

Brett Flint (Amsterdam), Matt Raponi (Amsterdam), Robert Chaisson (Catholic Central), Sean Glennon (Christian Brothers Academy), Lucas Chico (Bishop Gibbons), Chris Homenick (Bishop Gibbons), Julian Canavan (Schenectady), Devin Fitzgerald (Schenectady), Chris Quinones (Troy).

Honorable Mention

Alessio Fasullo (Albany), Conor Foley (Albany), Ian Alejandro (Amsterdam), Pat Purtell (Amsterdam), Josh Turo (Amsterdam), Steve Curry (Catholic Central); Kieran Rock (Christian Brothers Academy), Jack Dewey (LaSalle), Brandon Diaz (LaSalle), Stephan Dixon (Bishop Gibbons), Mike Sinkora (Bishop Gibbons), Austin Liebers (Schenectady).

Coach of the Year: Rick Mulvey (Christian Brothers Academy)


First Team

Chantel Dopp (Amsterdam), Deborah Johnson (Amsterdam), Megan Ottati (Amsterdam), Illenis Quinones (Amsterdam), Lilianna Matala (Bishop Gibbons), Claire Sise (Bishop Gibbons), Gwynn Sise (Bishop Gibbons), Talya Williams (Bishop Gibbons), Megan Dufort (Schenectady), D'Asia Randall (Troy).

Second Team

Emily Patnaude (Albany), Alexa Pettit (Albany), Caitlyn Adamchick (Amsterdam), Kelly Paris (Amsterdam), Julia Engster (Catholic Central), Angelique Cain (Bishop Gibbons), Alison Lemme (Bishop Gibbons), Anne Ryan (Bishop Gibbons), Leah Ketchen (Schenectady), Emma Ward (Schenectady).

Honorable Mention

Danielle Fazio (Amsterdam), Amber Natole (Amsterdam), Sarah Thrane (Amsterdam), Megan Doyle (Catholic Central), Lisa Balissoon (Schenectady).

Coach of the Year: Jon Broderick (Bishop Gibbons).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web