Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

FFCS players earn Colonial Council honors

November 21, 2012
By The Leader-Herald ( , The Leader Herald

Fonda-Fultonville's Cassandra Egelston and Lindsay Therrien were among those named to the recently announced Colonial Council girls soccer all-star team.

Tom Lyons, a senior forward, was the lone FFCS representative on the Colonial Council boys soccer all-star team, earning second-team honors.

Egelston, a junior, was selected as a second-team all-star, while Therrien, a junior, earned third-team status.

Article Photos

Fonda-Fultonville’s Tom Lyons (10) is defended by Albany Academy’s William Ware during a Colonial Council boys soccer game Oct. 22. (The Leader-Herald/Bill Trojan)

Schalmont, which won the league's regular-season title, had five players selected as first-team all-stars. Diana DiCocco, Allie Gallo, Rachael Gac, Alexandra Cardinal and Isabella Borini were named first-team all-stars for the Lady Sabres.

Aso named to the first team were Mechanicville's Mikayla Gowett, Cobleskill-Richmondville's Morgan Loder, Lansingburgh's Megan Finnen, Cobleskill-Richmondville's Erica Tracy, Ichabod Crane's Mariela Jacome, Albany Academy's Emma Malicki, Ichabod Crane's Jessie Mink, Voorheesville's Caroline Weiss, Mechanicville's Aubrey Zecca, Ichabod Crane's Kaci Aschenbrenner, Albany Academy's Martha Crowley and Lansingburgh's Aimee Fredette.

Ichabod Crane had three players - Jen VanAlphen, Katie Grace and Jenna Rutkey - named to the second team.

Also named to the second team were Voorheesville's Hannah Brackett, Watervliet's Aillayia Demand, Albany Academy's Talia Rockmore, Cobleskill-Richmondville's Kate Billington, Lansingburgh's Katie Palermo, Schalmont's Madeline Saccocio, Albany Academy's Valerie Taylor, Cobleskill-Richmondville's Maggie Tryon, Holy Name's Hannah Haggerty, Cohoes' Abby Kortz, Mechanicville's Courtney Pingelski, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk's Melanie Schmitt and Lansingburgh's Alexis Whalen.

Mechanicville's Sara Erno, Kim Thompson, Samie Hayner and Keara LaFountain were named third-team all-stars.

Also earning third-team status were Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk's Kasey Biernacki, Cohoes' Meghan Loiselle, Schalmont's Ciara Vitallo, Lansingburgh's Sam Kingsley, Holy Names' Courtney Kramer, Watervliet's Jocelyn Brunick, Voorheesville's Chelsea Duncan, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk's Rachel Smith, Cobleskill-Richmondville's Randi Broadwell, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk's Serrena Hazzard, Ichabod Crane's Mikela Freeman, Cobleskill-Richmondville's Danielle Kiser, Albany Academy's Maura Mulligan, Voorheesville's Sarah Murray and Lansingburgh's Rachel Truland.

Ichabod Crane, which shared the state Class B title, placed four players on the Colonial Council boys first team.

The Riders' Tyler Jablanski, Seth Scarano, Justyn Verbraska and Eduardo Gomez all were named first-team all-stars.

Jablanski, a senior midfielder, was named the league's Most Valuable Player.

Albany Academy had three players - John Moutopoulos, Dami Osofisan and Jordan Newton - named first-team all-stars.

Also named first-team all-stars were Mechanicville's Caleb Foard; Schalmont's Gino Rossi and Devin Murphy; Lansingburgh's Brandon Bombard, and Voorheesville's Kevin Clark.

In addition to Lyons, the second team included Voorheesville's Anthony Crisafulli, Blake Fenner and Noah Crawford.

Also named to the second team were Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk's Tyler Thompson and Slade Feeney; Cohoes' Connor Laughlin; Schalmont's Chris Bubb and Mike Dougall; Lansingburgh's Ben Bayly; Albany Academy's Liam Maloy and Cobleskill-Richmondville's Dylan Tracy.

Colonial Council All-Stars

Boys Soccer

MVP: Tyler Jablanski (Ichabod Crane)

First Team

Caleb Foard (Mechanicville), Seth Scarano (Ichabod Crane), John Moutopoulos (Albany Academy), Jordan Newton (Albany Academy), Brandon Bombard (Lansingburgh), Eduardo Gomez (Ichabod Crane), Kevin Clark (Voorheesville), Devin Murphy (Schalmont), Dami Osofisan (Albany Academy).

Second Team

Tyler Thompson (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Anthony Crisafulli (Voorheesville), Slade Feeney (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Tom Lyons (Fonda-Fultonville), Connor Laughlin (Cohoes), Chris Bubb (Schalmont), Blake Fenner (Voorheesville), Ben Bayly (Lansingburgh), Mike Dougall (Schalmont), Noah Crawford (Voorheesville), Liam Maloy (Albany Academy), Dylan Tracy (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

Colonial Council All-Stars

Girls Soccer

First Team

Forwards: Diana DiCocco (Schalmont), Allie Gallo (Schalmont), Mikayla Gowett (Mechanicville), Morgan Loder (Cobleskill-Richmondville).

Midfielders: Alexandra Cardinal (Schalmont), Megan Finnen (Lansingburgh), Rachael Gac (Schalmont), Mariela Jacome (Ichabod Crane), Emma Malicki (Albany Academy), Jessie Mink (Ichabod Crane), Caroline Weiss (Voorheesville), Aubrey Zecca (Mechanicville).

Defenders: Kaci Aschenbrenner (Ichabod Crane), Isabella Borini (Schalmont), Martha Crowley (Albany Academy), Aimee Fredette (Lansingburgh).

Goalkeeper: Erica Tracy (Cobleskill-Richmondville).

Second Team

Forwards: Hannah Bracket (Voorheesville), Aillayia Demand (Watervliet), Cassandra Egelston (Fonda-Fultonville), Talia Rockmore (Albany Academy), Jen VanAlphen (Ichabod Crane).

Midfielders: Kate Billington (Cobleskill-Richmondville), Katie Palermo (Lansingburgh), Madeline Saccocio (Schalmont), Valerie Taylor (Albany Academy), Maggie Tryon (Cobleskill-Richmondville).

Defenders: Hannah Haggerty (Holy Names), Abby Kortz (Cohoes), Courtney Pingelski (Mechanicville), Jenna Rutkey (Ichabod Crane), Melanie Schmitt (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Alexis Whalen (Lansingburgh).

Goalkeeper: Katie Grace (Ichabod Crane).

Third Team

Forwards: Kasey Biernacki (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Meghan Loiselle (Cohoes), Ciara Vitallo (Schalmont).

Midfielders: Jocelyn Brunick (Watervliet), Chelsea Duncan (Voorheesville), Sara Erno (Mechanicville), Samie Hayner (Mechanicville), Serrena Hazzard (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Rachel Smith (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk).

Defenders: Randi Broadwell (Cobleskill-Richmondville), Mikela Freeman (Ichabod Crane), Danielle Kiser (Cobleskill-Richmondville), Courtney Kramer (Holy Names), Keara LaFountain (Mechanicville), Maura Mulligan (Albany Academy), Sarah Murray (Voorheesville), Lindsay Therrien (Fonda-Fultonville), Rachel Truland (Lansingburgh).

Goalkeepers: Sam Kingsley (Lansingburgh), Kim Thompson (Mechanicville).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web