Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

FFCS’ Wetsky named first-team Colonial Council all-star

November 20, 2012
By The Leader-Herald ( , The Leader Herald

Three Fonda-Fultonville players were among those honored on the recently announced Colonial Council volleyball all-star team.

Taylor Wetsky was named a Liberty Division first-team all-star for the Lady Braves, while Sierra Park and Cory Lais were named Liberty Division second-team all-stars.

Voorheesville's Libby Bjork was named the league's Most Valuable Player and Setter of the Year.

Voorheesville's Caroline Bablin was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Schalmont's Rachel Pineda was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Bjork, Bablin and Mariel McGinnis were named first-team Liberty Division all-stars for Voorheesville, while Pineda and Emily Hilton were named first-team Liberty Division all-stars for Schalmont.

Rounding out the first-team Liberty Division all-stars were Cobleskill-Richmondville's Alaina Thaxter and Watervliet's Kaili Szczepanski.

In the Patriot Division, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk had Katie Bestwick and Micaela Bullis named first-team all-stars. Holy Names' had McKenzie Bornt and Amy Fredette named to the Patriot Division first team, while Ichabod Crane's Katie Barber and Mechanicville's Paige Hansen also were honored.

In addition to Park and Lais, Voorheesville's Tori Hartgrave and Emma Sprotbery were named second-team Liberty Division all-stars. Schalmont's Lindsey Burns, Schalmont's Lauren Mahar, Watervliet's Amber Wells, Cobleskill-Richmondville's Amelia Butler, Albany Academy's Lorraine Lewis and Albany Academy's Teagan Ketchum also were named Liberty Division second-team all-stars.

Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk had Chelsie McMillen, Darian Harbeck and Hope Rebeor named Patriot Division second-team all-stars.

Rounding out the Patriot Division second-team all-stars were Holy Names' Jen DuMond and Allison House; and Ichabod Crane's Quinn Hennessy and Sarah Dempster.

Colonial Council Volleyball All-Stars

MVP: Libby Bjork (Voorheesville)

Offensive Player of the Year: Caroline Bablin (Voorheesville)

Defensive Player of the Year: Rachel Pineda (Schalmont)

Setter of the Year: Libby Bjork (Voorheesville)

Liberty Division

First Team

Libby Bjork (Voorheesville), Mariel McGinnis (Voorheesville), Caroline Bablin (Voorheesville), Rachel Pineda (Schalmont), Emily Hilton (Schalmont), Taylor Wetsky (Fonda-Fultonville), Kaili Szczepanski (Watervliet), Alaina Thaxter (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

Second Team

Tori Hartgrave (Voorheesville), Emma Sprotbery (Voorheesville), Lindsey Burns (Schalmont), Lauren Mahar (Schalmont), Sierra Park (Fonda-Fultonville), Cory Lais (Fonda-Fultonville), Amber Wells (Watervliet), Amelia Butler (Cobleskill-Richmondville), Lorraine Lewis (Albany Academy), Teagan Ketchum (Albany Academy).

Patriot Division

First Team

Katie Bestwick (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Micaela Bullis (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), MacKenzie Bornt (Holy Names), Amy Fredette (holy Names), Katie Barber (Ichabod Crane), Paige Hansen (Mechanicville)

Second Team

Chelsie McMillen (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Darien Harbeck (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Hope Rebeor (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Jen DuMond (Holy Names), Allison House (Holy Names), Quinn Hennessy (Ichabod Crane), Sarah Dempster (Ichabod Crane).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web