Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Four Patriots make Foothills’ first team

November 12, 2012
By MIKE ZUMMO ( , The Leader Herald

Although they didn't go as deep into the postseason as they were expecting, the Broadalbin-Perth Patriots were rewarded with seven players being named to the Foothills Council all-star teams.

"Tucker has incredible field vision with a fantastic combination fo speed and skill," Henry said. "Without a doubt, he can tell other teams in league were gameplanning around him. He would be double- and triple-team. He still managed to score goals and get assists."

Senior Tucker Wilcox was named Player of the Year, while seniors Mark Sylvia, Ben Bellandi and A.J. Klemczak joined him on the first team.

Article Photos

Broadalbin-Perth’s Tucker Wilcox moves the ball against Johnstown’s Nick Salatel during Foothills Council boys soccer game Oct. 4 at Patriot Field in Broadalbin. Wilcox was named the league’s player of the year. (The Leader-Herald/Mike Zummo)

"All those guys absolutely deserve to be on the first-team and I'm glad the coaches in the league saw it that way," Broadalbin-Perth coach Brian Henry said.

Wilcox was the Patriots' leading scorer with 71 points in his senior year. He scored a team-high 27 goals and assisted on 17 others.

Sylvia, a junior defender who was ranked third in the league voting, was a physical presence in the back for the Patriots this year, and,

He has size and speed and tenacity just changes the way opposing offense has to attack our defense," Henry said.

At times Sylvia contributed to the offense when the Patriots needed to push him up the field.

He had 17 points, socring seven goals and assisting on three others.

Even when he wasn't directly scoring he would help generate the offense by finding either Klemczak or Wilcox and the midfield.

"He had a lot of responsibility and he used it wisely," Henry said.

Ben Bellandi provided the Patriots with speed up front and was second on the Patriots in scoring with 47 points. He had 16 points and 15 assists.

Bellandi replaced some of the speed provided by Dominic Kwiatkowski last year.

"We didn't lose a step as far as speed on the field," Henry said. "He was fasted guy in the league. was able to separate from defenders."

Klemczak doesn't have the offensive numbers Wilcox and Bellandi had, but he had his share with 23 points over nine goals and seven assists.

Henry said he was the glue that held the Patriots together.

"Sometiems I wished I had 11 A.J.'s out on the field," he said. "He always played like we were three goals down. He worked hard the whole match. He's just a hard worker and a very humble athlete. He didn't expect to get a lot of accolades, but somehow he managed to be in the mix every time we scored.

Junior defender Logan Ackley was named to the second team, along with Gloversville sophomore midfielder Thomas Kirk and Johnstown's junior goalkeeper Andy Camarra.

Broadalbin-Perth junior defenders Anthony Payne and Scott Eversen, Gloversville senior forward C.J. DeVito and Johnstown senior defender Jon Heroth and senior forward Elijah Hill were honorable mentions.

Foothills Council All-Stars

Player of the Year: Tucker Wilcox (Broadalbin-Perth)

First Team

Tucker Wilcox (Broadalbin-Perth), Eric Denny (Scotia-Glenville), Mark Sylvia (Broadalbin-Perth), Blake Snyder (South Glens Falls), Ben Bellandi (Broadalbin-Perth), Luke Vandixhorn (South Glens Falls), Country Moran (Scotia-Glenville), A.J. Klemczak (Broadalbin-Perth), Dennis Turner (Scotia-Glenville), Connor Flaherty (Scotia-Glenville), Chris Goodemote (Queensbury), Adam Ashcroft (Scotia-Glenville).

Second Team

Logan Ackley (Broadalbin-Perth), Kyle McMurty (Glens Falls), Heath Armstrong (Glens Falls), Thomas Kirk (Gloversville), Andy Camarra (Johnstown), Taylor Neil (Queensbury), Chris Locaputo (Queensbury), Owen Fingar (Scotia-Glenville), Ryan Plude (South Glens Falls), Jack Greenier (South Glens Falls), Kyle Ogden (South Glens Falls).

Honorable Mention

Anthony Payne (Broadalbin-Perth), Scott Eversen (Broadalbin-Perth), Sean Hooker (Glens Falls), Nate Didio (Glens Falls), Jack Girard (Glens Falls), Fran Dougherty (Glens Falls), C.J. DeVito (Gloversville), Jon Heroth (Johnstown), Elijah Hill (Johnstown), Pat O'Mara (Queensbury), Liam Mulshine (Queensbury), Josh Silverburg (Queensbury), Colin Campbell (Scotia-Glenville), Taylor LaPlante (Scotia-Glenville), Ryan Bailey (Scotia-Glenville), Ryan Carroll (Scotia-Glenville), Cody Kostrebski (South Glens Falls), Josh Hay (South Glens Falls), Collin Lenon (South Glens Falls), Jace Lenon (South Glens Falls), Rick Buser (South Glens Falls).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web