Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Several area players earn Foothills honors

November 8, 2012
By The Leader-Herald ( , The Leader Herald

A total of 13 area volleyball players were among those honored on the recently announced Foothills Council all-star team.

Annie Stock and Zara Hyde were named to the first team for Johnstown.

The Lady Bills will face Section X champion Massena on Saturday at SUNY Canton in the state Class B regional finals at 4 p.m.

Article Photos

Gloversville’s Jenna Putnam (1) hits the ball over the net during a non-league match against Schoharie at Gloversville High School on Oct. 15. Putnam recently was named a first-team Foothills Council all-star. (The Leader-Herald/Bill Trojan)

Broadalbin-Perth's Allison Lysiak and Chelsea LeBlanc also earned first-team honors along with Gloversville's Jenna Putnam and Katlyn Pierce.

Queensbury's Brooke Meader was named the league's Most Valuable Player. The Spartans won the league title with a perfect 14-0 record.

Rounding out the first-team all-stars were South Glens Falls' Rachel Lumley, Hudson Falls' Tanner Barton, Queensbury's Sarah McMahon, South Glens Falls' Shannon Higgins and Queensbury's Maddie Paquin.

Johnstown had three players named second-team all-stars as Elizabeth Hayward, Alyssa Nellis and Bri O'Rourke earned the honors for the Lady Bills. Broadalbin-Perth's Caitlin Rasefske also was named a second-team all-star.

Also named to the second team were Queensbury's Savannah Brayton, Scotia-Glenville's Rochelle Teerlinck, Queensbury's Kelly McLaughlin, Hudson Falls' Hannah Mager, South Glens Falls' Jessica Miller, Queensbury's Kristen O'Connor, South Glens Falls' Jessica Trudeau and Hudson Falls' Katie Clouse.

Gloversville's Ana Kroup and Kia Antipuesto earned honorable-mention status along with Johnstown's Jerica Holland. Also named honorable mention were Scotia-Glenville's Bianca Bustamante, Hudson Falls' Bri Seeley, Scotia-Glenville's Caroline Goffin, Hudson Falls' Kacie Rosenblum, South Glens Falls' Cassie McDonald, Glens Falls' Erin Ryan, Queensbury's Courtney Keys, Glens Falls' Abbie Fairchild and Glens Falls' Rachel Lashway.

Foothills Council Volleyball All-Stars

MVP: Brooke Meader ((Queensbury)

First Team

Annie Stock (Johnstown), Rachel Lumley (South Glens Falls), Jenna Putnam (Gloversville), Zara Hyde (Johnstown), Jenna Bureau (Queensbury), Katlyn Pierce (Gloversville), Chelsea LeBlanc (Broadalbin-Perth), Allison Lysiak (Broadalbin-Perth), Tanner Barton (Hudson Falls), Sarah McMahon (Queensbury), Maddie Paquin (Queensbury), Shannon Higgins (South Glens Falls)

Second Team

Savannah Brayton (Queensbury), Kelly McLaughlin (Queensbury), Elizabeth Hayward (Johnstown), Hannah Mager (Hudson Falls), Caitlin Rasefske (Broadalbin-Perth), Rochelle Teerlinck (Scotia-Glenville), Alyssa Nellis (Johnstown), Jessica Miller (South Glens Falls), Jessica Trudeau (South Glens Falls), Kristen O'Connor (Queensbury), Brianne O'Rourke (Johnstown), Katie Clouse (Hudson Falls)

Honorable Mention

Bianca Bustamante (Scotia-Glenville), Ana Kroup (Gloversville), Kia Antipuesto (Gloversville), Caroline Goffin (Scotia-Glenville), Jerica Holland (Johnstown), Bri Seeley (Hudson Falls), Kacie Rosenblum (Hudson Falls), Cassie McDonald (South Glens Falls), Erin Ryan (Glens Falls),Abbie Fairchild (Glens Falls), Courtney Keys (Queensbury), Rachel Lashway (Glens Falls)



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web