Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Wells players earn NSL honors

October 29, 2012
The Leader Herald

WELLS - The Wells boys soccer team had two players earn all-league honors on the recently announced Northern Soccer League Division III all-star team.

Wells defender Jake Earley, a senior, was named to the first team for the Indians. Earley, a three-year starter and tri-captain, had five goals and four assists this season.

"Jake did a real nice job running the defense this year. His good knowledge of the game and field awareness helped create several scoring opportunities for us this year," Wells coach Don Beach said. "He was able to cover a lot of area on the field during a game and his hustle was invaluable to the team, not only this year but throughout his varsity soccer career. Jake's a strong player and he will be hard to replace next year. I'm glad I got the opportunity to coach him this year."

Article Photos

Wells’ Jake Earley, left, recently was named a first-team Northern Soccer League Division III all-star. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Crown Point's Gabe Macey was named the Most Valuable Player.

Also named first-team all-stars were Minerva-Newcomb's Jorge Bertomeu, Wesley LaBar, Borja Martinez, Bryton Chikukwa and Jao Silva. Schroon Lake had three players earn first-team honors as Jessie Shaughnessy, Jeff Armstrong and Mitchel Beers were honored. Rounding out the first-team honors were Johnsburg's Chet Prouty, Crown Point's Michael DuShane, Johnsburg's Nick Porter and Crown Point's Dan Groshans.

Wells junior midfielder Matt Michienzi was named a second-team all-star.

Michienzi, a two-year starter, led the team with 12 goals this season.

"Matt is good at creating space and picking angles. This enabled us to advance the ball up the field, creating scoring opportunites for his teammates as well as himself," Beach said. "He's an extremely hard worker in practice and this paid off in game situations as a result. Looking forward to having him back for one more soccer season and taking on more of a leadership role as a senior member of our squad."

Keene had three players - Jack Vanwi, Colton Brenner and Gabe Warner - named second-team all-stars.

Also named to the second team were Indian Lake-Long Lake's Matt Moore, Johnsburg's Austin Washburn, Minerva-Newcomb's Austin Williams, Schroon Lake's Justin Lock, Schroon Lake's Bobby Rose, Crown Point's Joe Foot and Crown Point's Noah Macey.

Minerva-Newcomb coach Millie Winslow was named Coach of the Year.

The Ray Holmes Sportsmanship Award went to Keene. Wells was second in the voting, while Johnsburg was third.

2012 Northern Soccer League Division III All-Stars


Gabe Macey (Crown Point)

First Team

Goaltender: Chet Prouty (Johnsburg)

Forwards: Nick Porter (Johnsburg), Jorge Bertomeu (Minerva-Newcomb), Joao Silva (Minerva-Newcomb), Jessie Shaughnessy (Schroon Lake)

Midfielders: Wesley LaBar (Minerva-Newcomb), Borja Martinez (Minerva-Newcomb), Dan Groshans (Crown Point), Jeff Armstrong (Schroon Lake).

Defenders: Bryton Chikukwa (Minerva-Newcomb), Jake Earley (Wells), Mitchel Beers (Schroon Lake), Michael DuShane (Crown Point)

Second Team

Matt Moore (Indian Lake/Long Lake), Austin Washburn (Johnsburg), Austin Williams (Minerva-Newcomb), Matt Michienzi (Wells), Justin Lock (Schroon Lake), Bobby Rose (Schroon Lake), Joe Foot (Crown Point), Noah Macey (Crown Point), Jack Vanwi (Keene), Colton Brenner (Keene), Gabe Warner (Keene).

Coach of the Year

Millie Winslow (Minerva-Newcomb):

Ray Holmes Sportsmanship Award

1. Keene, 2. Wells, 3. Johnsburg.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web