Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Mayfield’s McClellan claims WAC title

October 24, 2012
By The Leader-Herald ( , The Leader Herald

FORT PLAIN -Mayfield's Tom McClellan won the 3.05-mile boys' race Tuesday at the Western Athletic Conference Cross Country Championships.

McClellan finished with a time of 15:06.46 to claim the individual title by 24.21 seconds over Mekeel Christian's Jacob Urys.

Duanesburg won the girls' team title, while Mekeel Christian Academy claimed the boys' crown.

Article Photos

Mayfield’s Tom McClellan, left, and Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Jordan Ahrens (1464) run at the front of the pack during the boys’ race at the Western Athletic Conference Cross Country Championships at Fort Plain on Tuesday. (The Leader-Herald/Bill Trojan)

In the boys' race, Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Jordan Ahrens (16:01.97) was third, following McClellan and Urys to the line.

Duanesburg's Xavier McKinley (16:03.81) was fourth and Duanesburg's Pat Murphy (16:09.22) was fifth.

Mekeel Christian claimed the boys' title with 44 points, while Duanesburg was second with 57. Berne-Knox-Westerlo (74 points) was third, Mayfield (85) was fourth, Canajoharie-Fort Plain (86) was fifth and Saratoga Catholic (153) was sixth.

C-FP's Austin VanAvery (17:38.31) was 12th, while Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Ruben McFarlane (17th, 18:02.10), Mayfield's Mitch Akowicz (18th, 18:10.84) and Josh Gallup (19th, 18:11.93) also posted top-20 finishes.

Other Mayfield finishers included Jake Smith (29th, 18:56.64), Josh Murphy (32nd, 19:18.61), Ryan Bumpus (36th, 19:46.00), Brent Gray (37th, 19:47.75), Tom Steele (52nd, 22:44.33) and Cody Horowitz (55th, 23:47.17).

Other C-FP finishers included Travis Herringshaw (31st, 19:07.47), Andrew Hanifin (35th, 19:32.83), Lucas Steenburg (42nd, 20:10.45), Evan Searles (44th, 20:51.76), Zephran Vosburgh (51st, 22:17.92), Josh Chechnicki (53rd, 23:20.47), Alex Decker (54th, 23:36.44) and Gene Ryan (57th, 24:15.82).

In the girls' race, Berne-Knox-Westerlo's Allie Tedeschi won the 3.05-mile race with a time of 19:03.96. Duanesburg's Ciara Fisher (19:25.98) was second, Galway's Lindsey Carlsen (19:43.16) was third, Duanesburg's Katie Gregory (20:05.90) was fourth and Duanesburg's Maddy Kenyon (20:08.72) was fifth.

Duanesburg claimed the team title with 32 points, while Berne-Knox-Westerlo was second with 41 points. Galway (63 points) was third and Saratoga Catholic (74) was fourth. Mayfield and Canajoharie-Fort Plain both fielded incomplete teams.

Sarah Montgomery led Mayfield, placing ninth with a time of 20:54.62. Lidija Nikollaj (21:05.73) was 11th for the Lady Panthers, Allie Miller (22:04.00) was 14th and Kelsey Wasson (22:08.18) was 15th.

Quinn Li O'Shea was Canajoharie-Fort Plain's top finisher, placing 17th with a time of 22:55.26.

Also finishing for C-FP were Alexis Kane (19th, 23;02.19), Abby Boyer (22nd, 24:24.55) and Catie Corrigan (26th, 25:08.14).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web