Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Cross Country Roundup: B-P girls, Gloversville boys sweep meet

October 3, 2012
By The Leader-Herald ( , The Leader Herald

JOHNSTOWN - The Broadalbin-Perth girls and Gloversville boys swept Tuesday's Foothills Council cross-country meet with Gloversville and Johnstown at Johnstown High School.

The Gloversville boys defeated Broadalbin-Perth (23-33) and Johnstown (17-40), while B-P posted a 22-35 win over Johnstown.

The B-P girls topped Gloversville (19-36) and Johnstown (16-48), while Gloversville earned a 19-39 win over Johnstown.

Article Photos

Runners from Gloversville, Broadalbin-Perth and Johnstown break from the line at the start of the boys varsity race at Tuesday’s Foothills Council meet at Johnstown High School. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

In the boys race, Gloversville's John Knox won, covering the 3.05-mile course in a time of 15:40. Broadalbin-Perth's Greg Bogdan was second with a time of 16:05, while Gloversville's Alex Gifford was third with a time of 16:42. Gloversville's Jack Hayes (17:00) was fourth and Johnstown's Daeshan Buseck (17:12) was fifth.

Patrick Brown (sixth, 17:13), Matt Dwyer (eighth, 17:25) and Alex Hitrick (ninth, 17:38) also posted top-10 finishes for B-P.

Phil Meher (seventh, 17:15) and Hunter Marshall (10th, 17:54) posted top-10 finishes for Gloversville.

Other Broadalbin-Perth finishers included Hunter Martin (15th, 18:27), Nikolai Murphy (15th, 18:27), Henry Caughey (17th, 18:38), Jacob Mosher (20th, 20:14), and D.J. Holt (30th, 27:22).

Rounding out the Gloversville finishers were Matt Rivera (13th, 18:20), Justin Unislawski (19th, 19:30), Chris Hernandez (22nd, 22:22), Logan Vandenson (24th, 22:50), Jean Luc Mauleon (25th, 24:10), Tyler Unislawski (26th, 24:38), Sedrick Nellis (28th, 24:45) and Nick Buck (29th, 26:52).

Other Johnstown finishers included Eric Brower (11th, 18:18), Cam Roten (12th, 18:18), Tyler Askew (14th, 18:24), Sam Brunetto (18th, 19:08), Jared Smith (21st, 20;30), Seth Clark (23rd, 22:30) and Isaac Smith (28th, 26:13).

In the 3.05-mile girls race, Broadalbin-Perth's Coreena Monroe won with a time of 19:53 as the Lady Patriots swept the top three spots.

Sarah Naple (20:06) was second for B-P, while Mackenzie Ottati (21:10) was third.

Gloversville Sarah Ambrosino (21;20) was fourth and Gloversville's Emily Ambrosino (21:22) was fifth.

Also posting top-10 finishes for Broadalbin-Perth were Victoria Opalka (sixth, 21:28), Montana Smith (eighth, 21:50) and Alex Opalka (ninth, 21:56).

Rounding out the top 10 were Johnstown's Skylar Swatt (21:37) in seventh and Gloversville's Alicia Anich (22:00) in 10th.

Also finishing for Broadalbin-Perth were Christa Decker (16th, 22:56) and Renee Bellinger (19th, 24:53).

Other Johnstown finishers included Emily Fettinger (15th, 22:42), Quincey Brabant (17th, 23;08), Alyssa Henry (25:02) and Cheyenne DaCorsi (21st, 26:38).

Colonial Council

FFCS sweeps Crossover Invitational

COHOES - The Fonda-Fultonville boys and girls cross-country teams both picked up wins at the Colonial Council Crossover Invitational.

In the girls meet, FFCS won with a total of 40 points. Cobleskill-Richmondville was second with 54 points and Schalmont was third with 78 points.

Fonda-Fultonville's Jamie Kasza won the girls race, covering the 2.6-mile course in a time of 15:38. Kimberly Geniti (16:20) was second for the Lady Braves and Samantha Phelps (16:50) was fourth. Carly Littlejohn (17:42) added a 12th-place finish for FFCS and Katie Wisniewski (18:40) was 21st.

In the boys meet, FFCS won with total of 37 points. Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk was second with 63 points and Schalmont was third with 101 points.

Fonda-Fultonville's Matt Hoffman won the 2.6-mile boys race with a time of 13:03. Tyler Angioli (13:21) was third for the Braves, while Jimmy Westman (13:35) was fifth.

Also finishing for FFCS were Cameron Gilligan (12th, 14:03) was 12th, Dalton Hunter (16th, 14:32), Omijah Piening (19th, 14:47), Dylan DeSorbo (20th, 14:50), Damian Freeman (29th, 15:39), Jake Shave (30th, 16:05), Cole Wozniak (41st, 17:03), Dan Westman (44th, 17;45) and Jason Klotz (52nd, 18:50).

Big 10

Amsterdam girls win, boys split

AMSTERDAM - The Amsterdam girls posted a win over Albany, while the boys topped Albany and lost to Christian Brothers Academy.

In the girls meet, Amsterdam defeated Albany 17-43 as the Lady Rams swept the top three spots. Megan Ottati won the race for Amsterdam, covering the 2.6-mile course in 17:08.

Illenis Quinones (17:47) was second for the Lady Rams, while Chantel Dopp (18:24) was third. Albany's Alex Pettit (18:50) was fourth and Amsterdam's Deb Johnson (18:59) was fifth.

Caitlyn Adamchick (sixth, 19:12 and Brenda Santana (seventh, 19:28) also posted top-10 finishes for the Lady Rams.

In the boys race, CBA topped both Amsterdam (23-33) and Albany (22-38), while Amsterdam salvaged a split with a 23-36 win over Albany.

Albany's Philo Germano won the 2.6-mile boys race with a time of 13:36. Amsterdam's Nick Raponi (14:49) was fourth and Matt Raponi (15:06) was fifth.

Brett Flint (15:35) was seventh for the Rams.


Duanesburg tops C-FP

FORT PLAIN - The Duanesburg boys and girls both posted wins over Canajoharie-Fort Plain in a Western Athletic Conference meet.

In the boys race, Duanesburg prevailed 24-32 over C-FP.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Jordan Ahrens won the 3-mile boys race with a time of 16:38. Duanesburg's Xavier McKinley (17:07), Pat Murphy (17:08) and Devin VanVlack (17:57) placed second, third and fourth, respectively. Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Austin VanAvery rounded out the top five, placing fifth with a time of 17:59.

Also finishing for C-FP were Ruben McFarlane (seventh, 18:23), Travis Herringshaw (eighth, 18:50), Andrew Hanifin (11th, 19:59), Lucas Steenburg (12th, 20:13), Evan Searles (13th, 21:34), Zephran Vosburgh (14th, 21:51), Josh Cechnicki (15th, 24:24), Gene Ryan (16th, 25:46) and Alex Decker (17th, 25:59).

In girls race, Duanesburg prevailed over an incomplete Canajoharie-Fort Plain squad.

The Eagles swept the top four spots as Ciara Fisher won the 3-mile race with a time of 20:59. Maddy Kenyon (21:09) was second for Duanesburg, Katie Gregory (21:55) was third and Abby Schaible (22:10) was fourth.

Quinn Li O'Shea placed fifth to lead Canajoharie-Plain, finishing with a time of 22:36.

Also finishing for C-FP were Abby Boyer (sixth, 23:19), Alexis Kane (seventh, 23:25) and Catie Corrigan (ninth, 25:58).

Mayfield hosts meet

MAYFIELD - Though the Mayfield boys and girls scores didn't count in the team standings, the Panthers turned in a strong showing against Saratoga Catholic and Schoharie.

In the boys meet, Mayfield's Tom McClellan won, covering the 3-mile course in a time of 16:43.

Mayfield's Mitch Akowicz (18:58) was second and Mayfield's Jake Smith (19:02) was third. Schoharie's Willie Griffin (19;15) was fourth and Mayfield's Josh Gallup (19:26) was fifth. Parker Johnson (19:29) finished sixth to lead Spa Catholic.

Other Mayfield finishers included Ryan Bumpus (10th, 20:59), Josh Murphy (11th, 21:43), Tom Steele (14th, 22:31), Brent Gray (23:06), Luke Cole (17th, 23:36) and Cody Horowitz (18th, 25:01).

Saratoga Catholic's Gabriella Gurney won the 3-mile girls race with a time of 22:14.

Mayfield swept the next four spots as Lidija Nikollaj (23:35), Sarah Montgomery (23:36), Kelsey Wasson (24:08) and Allie Miller (24:09) placed second, third, fourth and fifth, respectively.

Elizabeth DeGroff led Schoharie, placing sixth with a time of 25:14.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web