Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Sitterly claims fall championship victory at Oswego

September 17, 2012
By The Leader-Herald ( , The Leader Herald

OSWEGO - Canajoharie's Otto Sitterly once again prevailed in the Novelis Supermodified division at Oswego Speedway on Saturday behind the wheel of the brand new Nicotra Racing No. 7.

Based on the qualifying inversion draw Sitterly, the reigning champion of the Budweiser International Classic 200, started on the pole position and led all 75-laps to earn the top prize of $2,500 as the champion of The Post-Standard and Fall Championship at the Steel Palace.

Sitterly had to hold of the late charge of Mike Barnes on his way to the victory. Barnes passed several cars in the final circuits to close on Sitterly, but was unable to make the final pass off of the fourth corner to earn the win.

Article Photos

Otto Sitterly, second from left, led every lap of the supermodified feature on his way to the Fall Championship win at Oswego Speedway on Saturday. (Photo contributed by Bill Taylor)

The 2012 championship runner-up Pat Lavery finished in the third position ahead of Jeff Holbrook in fourth and Kody Graham in fifth. Ray Graham, Brian Sobus, Stephen Gioia III, Dave Gruel, and Shaun Gosselin completed the top 10.

"Starting position really means everything," Sitterly said in a news release. "Mike Barnes was really coming on there at the end, so nice run for those guys. This is a great way to end the season it was just unfortunate that it was such a long race for everyone, but that is how it goes sometimes."

Sitterly add that the newer Hawk chassis he piloted on Saturday night earned its first Oswego Speedway main event win.

"It will go around the outside, but it really is a handful to drive," Sitterly said in the release. "It sounds foolish, but it is really not that good right now. The car just isn't that good in traffic and it changes dramatically from when you start to the end of the race. At points in time, it is all over the track. It really is a handful."

After an up and down 2012 season at Oswego Speedway, Fulton's Jack Patrick finally broke into victory lane with a dominating performance in the small-block supermodified main event.

Patrick started on the pole position, passed Jeremy Pitcher for the lead on lap six, and then held off a hard charging Mike Bond to earn the right to pull into Chris Nelson Insurance Victory Lane on Saturday night.

Oswego Speedway public relations specialist Dan Kapuscinski returned behind the wheel of a small-block supermodified Saturday and drove to a third-place finish in the Heagerty No. 79, normally driven by Tim Barbeau, ahead of Barry Kingsley and DIRT Sportsman driver Jeremy Pitcher in the top five.

Pitcher was driving the Team Tapout No. 93, the regular ride of J.J. Andrews, and drove to a fifth-place finish in his first small-block supermodified start.

Mike Bruce, Jon Tesoriero, A.J. Bernys, Jason Simmons, and Rob Pullen completed the top 10. Ephratah's Kreig Heroth, the 2012 Oswego Speedway small-block supermodified track champion, finished 11th.

For more information on Oswego Speedway, visit the track's website,

Oswego Speedway

Sept. 15 Results


Feature (75 laps): 1. 7-Otto Sitterly, 2. 99-Mike Barnes, 3. 22-Pat Lavery, 4. 35-Jeff Holbrook, 5. 21-Kody Graham, 6. 11-Ray Graham, 7. 60-Brian Sobus, 8. 9-Stephen Gioia III, 9. 50-Dave Gruel, 10. 26-Shaun Gosselin, 11. 88-Randy Ritskes, 12. 02-Brandon Bellinger, 13. 37-Jeff Locke, 14. 87-Keith Gilliam, 15. 00-Joe Gosek, 16. 50m-Bob Bond, 17. 52-Dave Danzer, 18. 56-Hal LaTulip, 19. 14-Joe Chillemi, 20. 33-Rod Sauder, 21. 24-Jerry Curran, 22. 1-Shawn Muldoon, 23. 01-Daniel Connors Jr.


Feature (35 laps): 1. 9-Jack Patrick, 2. 26-Mike Bond, 3. 79-Dan Kapuscinski, 4. 91-Barry Kingsley, 5. 93-Jeremy Pitcher, 6. 22-Mike Bruce, 7. 47-Jon Tesoriero, 8. 24-AJ Bernys, 9. 99-Jason Simmons, 10. 2-Rob Pullen, 11. 04-Kreig Heroth, 12. 17-David LaTulip, 13. 98-JJ Andrews, 14. 1-Anthony Losurdo, 15. 43-Pitt Watson, 16. 95-Lou LeVea Jr, 17. 28-Stan Gates, 18. 65-Kevin Jackson, 19. 88-Will Hadcock, 20. 44-Zack Babcock, 21. 33-Andy Noto, 22. 74-Cameron Rowe, 23 87-Bryan Haynes


Feature (8-laps): 1. 2 - Kathy Harrington, 2. 91 - Jamie Crossett, 3. 26 - Debbie Bond, 4. 98 - Kim Brown, 5. 17 - Tracy Solazzo, 6. 79 - Carlee Heagerty, 7. 88 - Debbie Haynes, 8. 93 - Danielle Soule, 9. 24 - Amy Bernys, 10. 87 - Collette Moyer.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web