Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Fonda-Fultonville boys claim title

September 16, 2012
By The Leader-Herald ( , The Leader Herald

FORT PLAIN - Mayfield's Tom McClellan won the boys' race at the Fort Plain Cross-Country Invitational and Fonda-Fultonville placed three runners in the top 10 to win the small-school division at Harry Hoag Elementary School on Saturday.

The Braves had 59 points, while Broadalbin-Perth finished a distant second with 128 points. Mayfield was ninth with 228 points and Canajoharie-Fort Plain (15th) had 344 points.

McClellan finished the race in a time of 14;59.43, while Fonda-Fultonville's Matt Hoffman was third (15:15.59) and Tyler Angioli was fifth (15:40.81 and Jimmy Westman was ninth with a time of 16:12.50.

Article Photos

Runners break over the hill at the start of the 3-mile Division II girls varsity race Saturday at the 35th Annual Fort Plain Cross Country Invitational. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Broadalbin-Perth's Greg Bogdan was sixth with a time of 15:53.32.

Fonda-Fultonville's Omijah Piening was 16th (16:43.93), while Broadalbin-Perth's Patrick Brown and Matthew Dyer were 22nd and 25th respectively (17:04.80) and 17:15.42.

Other area finishers include: Fonda-Fultonville's Cameron Gilligan (26th, 17:20.68) and Dalton Hunter (31st, 17:34.48), Broadalbin-Perth's Alex Hitrick (37th, 17:57.44) and Nicolai Murphy (38th, 17:59.43), Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Austin Van Avery (41st, 18:12.70), Mayfield's Mitch Akowicz (45th, 18:18.60) and Jake Smith (46th, 18:20.92), Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Ruben McFarlane (52nd, 18:32.62), Mayfield's Josh Gallup (58th, 18:44.39), Broadalbin-Perth's Hunter Martin (65th, 18:49.37), Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Travis Herringshaw (70th, 19:01.07), Mayfield's Ryan Bumpus (80th, 19:38.32), Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Lucas Steenburg (81st, 19:38.88), Mayfield's Brent Gray (88th, 20:34.44), Broadalbin-Perth's Jacob Mosher (93rd, 21:07.57), Mayfield's Luke Cole (103rd (22:41.24), Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Zephran Vosburgh (105th, 22:47.65) and Josh Cechnicki (111st, 23:54.03), and Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Gene Ryan (114th, 25:21.51) and Alex Decker (115th, 25:23.79).

In the large-school race, Gloversville's John Knox was second and Alex Gifford took sixth, leading the Huskies to a fourth-place finish with 123 points. Amsterdam was ninth with 239 points and Johnstown was 12th with 279. Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk won the overall team title with 74 points.

Knox finished with a time of 15:01.90 and Gifford completed the three-mile run in 16:00.33. Amsterdam's Nick Raponi was 18th with a time of 16:38.14.

Other area finishers include: Hunter Marshall (29th, 16:53.83) and Phil Meher (31st, 17:00.07), Johnstown's Daeshan Buseck (34th, 17:05.27), Amsterdam's Matt Raponi (48th, 17:31.43), Johnstown's Eric Brower (53rd, 17:46.61), Amsterdam's Brett Flint (59th, 18:00.04), Johnstown's Tyler Askew (60th, 18:01.37), Amsterdam's Josh Turo (61st, 18:03.03), Johnstown's Cameron Roten (62nd, 18:05.72), Gloversville's Matt Rivera (64th, 18:08.19), Amsterdam's Teddy Picciocca (69th, 18:29.74), Ian Alejandro (79th, 19:01.35) and Patrick Purtell (80th, 19:03.78), Gloversville's Justin Unislawski (88th, 19:27.79), and Johnstown's Jarid Smith (90th, 19:35.20) Aaron Alvarez (92nd, 19:50.00) and Seth Clark (102nd, 22:43.44).


Fonda-Fultonville placed three runners in the top 10 in the girls' race, but didn't have enough runners to compete for the team title.

Broadalbin-Perth placed fourth with 88 points. Maple Hill won the overall team title with 38 points.

Fonda-Fultonville's Jamie Kasza was second with a time of 18:27.35, while Kimberly Geniti was sixth with a time of 19:10.18 and Samantha Phelps was 10th in 19:41.58. Broadalbin-Perth's Coreena Monroe was seventh with a time of 19:35.41. Her teammate Sarah Naple was 15th in 20:16.61.

Mayfield's Lidija Nikollaj was 19th in 20:34.97.

Other area finishers include: Broadalbin-Perth's Mackenzie Ottati (28th, 21:08.23) and Montana Smith (31st, 21:17.30), Fonda-Fultonville's Carly Littlejohn (32nd, 21:23.84), Mayfield's Sarah Montgomery (34th, 21:29.06), Broadalbin-Perth's Victoria Opalka (36th, 21:34.73), Alex Opalka (43rd, 22:17.01) and Christa Decker (45th, 22:28.38), Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Abby Boyer (49th, 22:50.22), Mayfield's Allie Miller (50th, 22:54.87), Canajoharie-Fort Plain's Kelsey Wasson (55th, 23:59) and Alexis Kane (62nd, 24:26.75).

In the large-school race, Amsterdam placed three runners in the top 20 on its way to a fourth-place finish with 99 points. Gloversville was fifth with 99 points. Greenwich won the overall team title with 59 points.

Megan Ottati was sixth with a time of 19:29.63 and Kelly Paris was 12th in 20:07.13. Deb Johnson took 19th with a time of 20:21.83.

Gloversville's Morgan Rienhardt was 11th in 20:02.66 and Brittany Craven was 15th in 20:16.26.

Other area finishers include: Amsterdam's Chantel Dopp (26th, 20:50.08), Gloversville's Emily Ambrosino (28th, 20:52.67), Darriannna Port (38th, 21:26.11), Haley Schuyler (41st, 21:34.51) and Sara Ambrosino (21:34.75), Amsterdam's Caitlyn Adamchick (45th, 21:42.76), Johnstown's Emily Fettinger (48th, 21.57.01), Gloversville's Alicia Anich (51st, 22:07.19), Johnstown's Quincey Brabant (53rd, 22:14.07), Amsterdam's Illenis Quinones (55th, 22:25.79) and Johnstown's Cheyenne Dacorsi (77th, 26:39.04).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web