Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Racing Around: ISMA supers to visit Malta

April 29, 2010
By JAMES A. ELLIS, The Leader-Herald

The asphalt supermodifieds have been thrilling fans at Oswego Speedway for decades.

Race fans will not have to make the trek to central New York to watch the high speed, winged, rear engine, Indy Car-style cars as the International Super Modified Association (ISMA) makes its debut Sunday at the newly paved Albany-Saratoga Speedway.

The race is the opening event of the season for the tour and according to an ISMA press release, a stellar field of competitors is expected to try their hand at conquering the "Great Race Place."

Six-time ISMA champion Chris Perley, is expected to be among the favorites for Sunday's race along with defending Oswego Speedway and Budweiser Classic champion Otto Sitterly of Canajoharie, Mike Ordway Sr., Vern Romanoski, Eddie Witkum Jr., Danny Lane, Brandon Bellinger, Ben Seitz, Bobby Bond, multi-time ISMA champ Russ Wood, Jeff Holbrook, Bob Magner, Bobby Haynes Jr., Dave Shullick Jr., Mark Sammut, Mike Lichty, Jeff Locke and Justin Belfiore.

Sitterly tested at the track last fall before the surface was repaved and turned a lap on the 4/10ths mile track in 13-seconds.

Pit gates are set to open at 10 a.m. and the grandstand at 11 a.m. Practice starts at 11 a.m. with the green flag scheduled to drop on the days racing at 1 p.m.

Grandstand general admission for the program, which will include the CVRA sportsman, will be $25 for adults

Thunder on the Thruway Series

Brett Hearn opened his run at the Thunder on the Thruway Series championship with a strong start last Sunday by picking up the victory in the 50-lap, $5,000-to-win series opening at Utica-Rome Speedway.

Hearn started 10th in the 24-car field and took the lead on a lap 16 restart.

Hearn was chased under the checkers by Tim Fuller, Jim Phelps, Bobby Varin, Pat Ward, Ryan Phelps, Danny Johnson, Michael Storms, Ronnie Johnson and Paul Jensen making up the top 10.

Fonda regulars Danny Varin, Jeff Trombley, Jim Davis and Matt DeLorenzo also qualified for the feature and Elmo Reckner, Mark Kislowski and Jeremy Wilder attempted to qualify.

Gloversville's Rocky Warner won the 20-lap pro stock feature.


Fonda Speedway will offer Kiddie Rides at the track Saturday night as part of its regular race card.

The DIRTCar championship points battle opens Friday night at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park with a full regular racing program on tap.

There are only three weeks to go before what is anticipated to be one of the biggest racing events of the season at Fonda Speedway. The 44-lap, $4,444.44-to-win Lou Lazzaro Tribute race is scheduled for May 15, the 11th anniversary of his 113th and last feature win at Fonda Speedway.

Friday night also is the opening night of points for go-kart competition at Caroga Creek Raceway and Dodge City Speedway.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web