Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Several area wrestlers named first-team league all-stars

April 12, 2008
By PAUL WAGER, The Leader-Herald
In a season full of accomplishments, the Amsterdam wrestling team added many more as part of the Big 10 wrestling all-star teams.

A total of seven Rams earned first-team honors, while five others earned either second-team or honorable mention status.

Leading the way was senior co-captain Brian Benton (130 pounds), who was named the Big 10’s Most Outstanding Wrestler in the 96-135 pound weight classes as well as a first-team all-star.

Joining Benton on the first team were Rick DuFresne (119), Dan Palmerino (125), Giuseppi Lanzi (135), Rob Morey (152), John Paris (160) and Dan McNamara (171).

LaSalle’s Zach Clemente was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler for the 140-285 pound weight classes.

Rounding out the first team all-stars were LaSalle’s Connor Sutton (103), Jon Clemente (112), Zach Clemente (140), Dan Brickner (145) and Ken Altarac (285), Schenectady’s Nick DiCaprio (96) and Andrew Jones (215) and Albany’s Andrew Purcell (189).

Gaetano Lanzi (96), Alex Siudy (103), Jestin Seays (145) and Orlando Pacheco (189) earned second-team all-star status for Amsterdam, while Joe Piasecki (285) earned honorable mention status.

In the Foothills Council, Johnstown’s Mark Gillen (125) and Joey Morrison were named to the first team.

Hudson Falls placed seven wrestlers on the first team, including Noah Valastro (96), Aaron Dudley (112), Kirk Harrington (119), Nate Cross (145), Aaron Barber (152), Tom Barber (171) and Tim Hammond (285).

Queensbury, which won the league title with a 6-0 record, placed Shane Hall (130), Josh Comer (160), Jared Myhrberg (189) and Tim Elbert (215) on the first team.

Rounding out the first team were Glens Falls’ John Belanger (103) and Nick Lashway (135).

Johnstown’s Anthony D’Antonino (285) and Broadalbin-Perth’s Janse VanAlstyne (215) earned second-team honors.

In the Western Athletic Conference, Fonda-Fultonville’s Kody Shaw (96), Mike Giuffre (103), Sean Jordan (130) and Corey Calkins (189) all earned first-team all-star status.

Duanesburg placed Amy Whitbeck (112), Brian Borst (119), Randy White (130), Mat White (145), Wes Coppolo (152), Nick Gwiazdowski (160), David Larson (171), Dana Mesick (189) and Steve Karandy (215) on the first team.

Rounding out the first team were Schoharie-Middleburgh’s J.J. Goblet (125), Galway’s Jonn Gochenour (135), Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Josh Glick (140) and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Keith Domermuth (285).

Fonda-Fultonville’s Chris Schnackenberg (119) and Chris Kennedy (135) earned second-team honors along with Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Dylan Slater (145) and David Wall (189).

Big 10 All-Stars

First Team

96: Nick DiCaprio (Schenectady)

103: Connor Sutton (LaSalle)

112: Jon Clemente (LaSalle)

119: Rick DuFresne (Amsterdam)

125: Dan Palmerino (Amsterdam)

130: Brian Benton (Amsterdam)

135: Giuseppi Lanzi (Amsterdam)

140: Zach Clemente (LaSalle)

145: Dan Brickner (LaSalle)

152: Rob Morey (Amsterdam)

160: John Paris (Amsterdam)

171: Dan McNamara (Amsterdam)

189: Andrew Purcell (Albany)

215: Andrew Jones (Schenectady)

285: Ken Altarac (LaSalle)

Most Outstanding Wrestlers

96-135: Brian Benton (Amsterdam)

140-285: Zach Clemente (LaSalle)

Second Team

96: Gaetano Lanzi (Amsterdam)

112: Alex Siudy (Amsterdam)

119: Ben Clemente (LaSalle)

125: Josh Vics (Schenectady)

130: Corey Rifenberick (LaSalle)

135: Ben Coco (Albany)

140: Eric Figueroa (CBA)

145: Jestin Seays (Amsterdam)

152: Stephon Flood (Albany)

160: Raith Ellis (Albany)

171: Chad McCray (Albany)

189: Orlando Pacheco (Amsterdam)

215: Aileem Penn (Albany)

285 : Joe Hassett (CBA)

Honorable Mention

125: Peter Swierzowski (Albany)

152: Chris Johnson (Schenectady)

160: Alex Gordon (Albany)

171: Keegan Farone (CBA)

285: Joe Piasecki (Amsterdam)

Foothills Council All-Stars

First Team

96: Noah Valastro (Hudson Falls)

103: John Belanger (Glens Falls)

112: Aaron Dudley (Hudson Falls)

119: Kirk Harrington (Hudson Falls)

125: Mark Gillen (Johnstown)

130: Shane Hall (Queensbury)

135: Nick Lashway (Glens Falls)

140: Joey Morrison (Johnstown)

145: Nate Cross (Hudson Falls)

152: Aaron Barber (Hudson Falls)

160: Josh Comer (Queensbury)

171: Tom Barber (Hudson Falls)

189: Jared Myhrberg (Queensbury)

215: Tim Elbert (Queensbury)

285: Tim Hammond (Hudson Falls)

Second Team

96: Won Suh Nordquist (Glens Falls)

103: Zach Hamell (Queensbury)

112: Mike Hewitt (Queensbury)

119: Russell Radigan (Queensbury)

125: Dan Riggi (Scotia-Glenville)

130: Nick Waytkus (Hudson Falls)

135: Ryan Bartholemew (South Glens Falls)

140: Josh Cook (South Glens Falls)

145: Scott Cleavland (Glens Falls)

152: Adam Ostrander (Queensbury)

160: Jimmy Neal (Glens Falls)

171: Keegan Bailey (Scotia-Glenville)

189: Brandon Hunsdon (South Glens Falls)

215: Janse VanAlstyne (Broadalbin-Perth)

285: Anthony D’Antonino (Johnstown)

Western Athletic Conference All-Stars

First Team

96: Kody Shaw (Fonda-Fultonville)

103: Mike Giuffre (Fonda-Fultonville)

112: Amy Whitbeck (Duanesburg)

119: Brian Borst (Duanesburg)

125: J.J. Goblet (Schoharie-Middleburgh)

130: Randy White (Duanesburg)/Sean Jordan (Fonda-Fultonville)

135: Jonn Gochenour (Galway)

140: Josh Glick (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

145: Mat White (Duanesburg)

152: Wes Coppolo (Duanesburg)

160: Nick Gwiazdowski (Duanesburg)

171: David Larson (Duanesburg)

189: Dana Mesick (Duanesburg)/Corey Calkins (Fonda-Fultonville)

215: Steve Karandy (Duanesburg)

285: Keith Domermuth (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

Second Team

96: Curt Rowley (Duanesburg)

103: Grady Picinich (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

112: Jose Sartin (Galway)

119: Chris Schnackenberg (Fonda-Fultonville)

125: Evan Borst (Duanesburg)

130: Tom Bushnell (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

135: Chris Kennedy (Fonda-Fultonville)/Mykel Foland (Schoharie-Middleburgh)

140: Ben Lynch (Duanesburg)

145: Dylan Slater (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

152: Errick Root (Galway)

160: Matt Davis (Schoharie-Middleburgh)

171: Jake Davis (Schoharie-Middleburgh)

189: Greg Hannay (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)/David Wall (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

215: Austin Terrell (Schoharie-Middleburgh)

285: Jim Dykeman (Duanesburg)

Article Photos

The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager

Amsterdam’s Brian Benton, top, was named the Big 10’s Most Outstanding Wrestler in the 96-135 pound weight classes.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web