Five to be sworn in Jan. 1

JOHNSTOWN — Five city government leaders, including Mayor Vern Jackson, will be sworn in for new four-year terms at the Common Council’s organizational meeting at noon Monday at City Hall.

The traditional New Year’s Day meeting will include a host of personnel items in the council chambers.

Due to be sworn in at the session are: Jackson; Councilman-at-Large Craig Talarico; 2nd Ward Councilwoman Kathi Iannotti; 4th Ward Councilman Timothy Cellary; and City Treasurer Michael Gifford. All will receive four-year terms.

In regular action, the council is slated to make the following appointments: Carrie Allen, as both city clerk and records management officer; Mary Jo Smith, as deputy city clerk; Michael Poulin, as city attorney; Christopher Vose, as city engineer; Joel Wilson, as deputy city engineer; and police Lt. David Gilbo, as provisional chief of police.

Allen replaces City Clerk Cathy VanAlstyne, who is retiring.

Gilbo replaces police Chief Mark Gifford, who is retiring.

In other, non-personnel matters, the council is expected to adopt rules and regulations of proceedings of Common Council meetings. The council is also slated to set the starting time of its meetings. The council will also make these official designations for 2018: banks for deposit of city funds, official newspaper, and city polling places.

The council is also expected to approve minutes, hold discussions, and make upcoming announcements.

Michael Anich covers Johnstown and Fulton County news. He can be reached at